Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Tuesday, 9/1/2009

2 Mud Hens named to IL postseason all-star team


A pair of Mud Hens, Brent Dlugach and Don Kelly, were named to the International League's postseason all-star team as announced by the league office Tuesday.

Dlugach was chosen as the IL's top shortstop, while Kelly was selected as a utility player in a vote of the league's managers, coaches, media and front office personnel.

Dlugach, who was promoted to Detroit today, hit .294 with nine homers and 59 RBIs in 125 games with Toledo. Both the average and home run total were career highs for the 26-year-old, who missed almost all of the past two seasons because of injuries.

Kelly is hitting .330 - third-best in the IL - with six homers, 39 RBIs and 26 stolen bases in 101 games for the Hens. The 29-year-old, who has spent time in Detroit this season, earned the "utility" award by playing every spot in the infield and outfield for Toledo at different points this season.

Bowling Green native Andy Tracy also was named the team's first baseman. The BGSU product plays for Lehigh Valley, where he has hit .24 home runs and driven in 88 RBIs. Both totals are second-best in the IL this season.

The rest of the International League's post-season all-star team includes Kevin Russo of Scranton/Wilkes-Barre at second base, Andy Marte of Columbus at third base and Erik Kratz of Indianapolis at catcher.

The outfield consists of Scranton's Shelley Duncan, Jordan Brown of Columbus and Jon Weber of Durham, while Gwinnett's Barbaro Canizares was named the DH.

Charlotte's Carlos Torres was named as the starting pitcher, while Luis Valdez of Gwinnett was tabbed as the reliever.

Duncan, who led the IL in both home runs (29) and RBIs (92), was named most valuable player, while Justin Lehr - who began the season with Lehigh Valley before moving to Louisville - was selected as the pitcher of the year.

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre outfielder Austin Jackson was voted rookie of the year, while Louisville's Rick Sweet was named manager of the year for the second straight season.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.