Friday, December 19, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 10/19/2011

Monroe Co. voters to decide many issues on Nov. 8 ballot

Bedford Township seeks levy for road repairs

The Bedford Township board is seeking voter approval of a 1-mill, 10-year levy for road repairs and maintenance. The Bedford Township board is seeking voter approval of a 1-mill, 10-year levy for road repairs and maintenance.

TEMPERANCE -- Bedford Township voters will find only one item on their ballot Nov. 8 -- a 1-mill, 10-year levy that would generate $970,732 annually for road repairs and maintenance in the township.

The new tax would cost the owner of a $100,000 home about $50 a year. The township board approved putting the issue on the ballot in early August when the results of a survey indicated support for the proposal.

Five hundred of the 700 survey respondents said they would vote for such a dedicated tax. The board does not have the money to improve the potholed and rutted roads without the additional funds. With new money, "I can certainly do a lot of good stuff," Supervisor Walt Wilburn said.

Officials have held a series of informational meetings on the levy request. The next and final one will be at 6 p.m. Tuesday in Bedford High School.

In other Monroe County communities, Luna Pier Mayor Mary Liske faces a challenge from Councilman Richard L. Murray, Jr., who is stepping down from council. Three names are on the ballot for council seats: incumbents Dawn Denise Gramza and Richard J. Russell and newcomer Bryan L. Carter.

In the city of Monroe, Mayor Robert E. Clark has two challengers, Steven Donovan II and William Sisk, and Clerk/Treasurer Charles D. Evans is unopposed.

In City Council races, Precinct 1 incumbent Jeffery A. Hensley is unopposed, while Edward F. Paisley, his Precinct 2 colleague, has challengers in John Iacoangeli, Jerry L. McKart, and David C. Roberts. Precinct 3 Councilman Christopher M. Bica is unopposed, and Precinct 4 incumbent Jeremy J. Molenda is challenged by Matt Vititoe.

In Precinct 5, incumbent Mary V. Conner is challenged by James R. Kansier. Precinct 6 Councilman Brian P. Beneteau has no challenger.

In the Monroe Public Schools, there are two candidates for two seats on the Board of Education: incumbent Lawrence VanWasshenova and Robert L. Yeo, a former board member who lost his bid for re-election last November. A seat is being vacated by Kenneth McNamee.

In Petersburg, there are plenty of openings but no candidates.

Write-ins are sought for the mayor's office, three City Council seats, and a seat on the Board of Review.

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories