Tuesday, Feb 20, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Ohio State

Buckeyes select 4 captains

COLUMBUS James Laurinaitis will serve for a second year as an Ohio State captain, joining quarterback Todd Boeckman, cornerback Malcolm Jenkins and wide receiver Brian Robiskie as leaders of the football team this fall.

The election of the four seniors was announced Friday.

Laurinaitis, an All-American linebacker and winner of the Butkus Award a year ago, becomes just the seventh Ohio State player to be a captain for two years. The others were Richard T. Ellis (1891-92), Archie Griffin (1974-75), Glen Cobb (1981-82), Thomas Johnson (1984-85), Joe Cooper (2000-01) and Steve Bellisari (2000-01).

It s unbelievable to have the chance to represent the type of player and people we have on this team as their captain for another year, said Laurinaitis, from Hamel, Minn.

Robiskie is the son of a former NFL player, head coach and assistant coach, Terry Robiskie.

Being a captain is one of those things, when it happens you feel blessed, Brian Robiskie said.

No. 2 Ohio State opens its season Aug. 30 at home against Youngstown State

Read more in later editions of The Blade and toledoblade.com.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…