Friday, Jan 19, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Our Town Schools

Owens awards 2013 Academic Excellence scholarships

Area high school seniors recently were honored by Owens Community College’s Board of Trustees for their outstanding achievements, receiving thousands of dollars in new scholarships through the trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship Program.

The scholarship program was created in 1998 by Owens’ board to recognize the outstanding achievements of graduating high school seniors. Each recipient will receive a $2,000 two-year scholarship.

The scholarship is available for four consecutive semesters with applicants being enrolled full-time and pursuing an associate’s degree at the college, as well as maintaining a 3.0 grade point average each semester. The program has provided more than $1.3 million in scholarships to more than 700 students.

Students receiving the scholarships and their intended course of study at Owens include:

  • Morgan Riegsecker of Waterville, an Anthony Wayne High School graduate (dental hygiene)
  • Lauren Ward of Findlay, an Arcadia High School graduate (radiologic technology)
  • Ashley Frankart of Jenera, Ohio, an Arlington High School graduate (medical assisting)
  • Henry Apple of Bowling Green, a Bowling Green High School graduate (business management)
  • Ashley Monroe of Toledo, a Bowsher High School graduate (exercise science)
  • Sara Turner-Smith of Toledo, a Cardinal Stritch High School graduate (psychology)
  • Adam Staler of Oregon, a Clay High School graduate (electrical/electronics engineering technology)
  • Kaitlyn Wolfarth of Bluffton, a Cory-Rawson High School graduate (registered nursing)
  • Cassandra Hoffmann of Perrysburg, an Eastwood High School graduate (physical therapist assistant)
  • Brittany George of Wayne, an Elmwood High School graduate (physical therapist assistant)
  • Cody Daniels of Toledo, an Emmanuel Christian High School graduate (criminal justice technology)
  • Gabrielle Brandt of Fostoria, a Hopewell-Loudon High School graduate (registered nursing)
  • Kayla Siefker of Ottawa, a Kalida High School graduate (adolescence education and mathematics)
  • Emily Eikost of Walbridge, a Lake High School graduate (computer programming technology)
  • Jessica Walter of Bradner, a Lakota High School graduate (occupational therapy assistant)
  • Taylor Benjamin of Findlay, a Liberty-Benton High School graduate (criminal justice technology)
  • Micah Lee of Toledo, a Maritime Academy of Toledo graduate (undecided)
  • Kelsey Growden of Maumee, a Maumee High School graduate (health information technology)
  • Colten Greer of McComb, a McComb High School graduate (biology)
  • Brandon Allomong of Sycamore, a Mohawk High School graduate (journalism)
  • Jacob Christensen of North Baltimore, a North Baltimore High School graduate (architectural engineering technology)
  • Brandon Geiser of Pioneer, a North Central High School graduate (physical therapist assistant)
  • Kathryn Rygalski of Northwood, a Northwood High School graduate (diagnostic medical sonography)
  • Kaleb Maguire of Oak Harbor, an Oak Harbor High School graduate (associate of science general concentration)
  • Courtney Stone of Luckey, a Penta Career Center graduate (Caterpillar dealer service technician)
  • Paul Cieply of Rossford, a Rossford High School graduate (welding)
  • Allison Patton of Holland, a Springfield High School graduate (dental hygiene)
  • Beverly Manning of Toledo, a Start High School graduate (associate of arts general concentration)
  • James Hendricks III of Toledo, a St. Francis de Sales High School graduate (fire science technology)
  • Georgia Kitchen of Fostoria, a St. Wendelin High School graduate (registered nursing)
  • Heather Homrich of Toledo, a Sylvania Northview High School graduate (communication studies)
  • Hannah Rowland of Toledo, a Sylvania Southview High School graduate (registered nursing)
  • Kristen Walton of Maumee, a Toledo Central Catholic High School graduate (undecided)
  • Kaylyn Gullikson of Toledo, a Toledo School for the Arts graduate (undecided)
  • Malynn Eaton of Findlay, a Van Buren High School graduate (dental hygiene)
  • Emily Rodriguez of Vanlue, a Vanlue High School graduate (marketing and sales technology)
  • Mikayla Miller of Toledo, a Waite High School graduate (diagnostic medical sonography)
  • Alyssa Goldsmith of Toledo, a Whitmer High School graduate (diagnostic medical sonography)
  • Andrea Jahns of Toledo, a Woodward High School graduate (diagnostic medial sonography)
Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…