Saturday, April 30, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 4/25/2011

Candidates unopposed in other area cities


Fremont, Tiffin, and Defiance are among the northwest Ohio cities with contested mayoral primary elections May 3, but several others so far have one-candidate races.

Former Wood County Administrator Dick Edwards is the only candidate seeking retiring Bowling Green Mayor John Quinn’s office. His name will appear on the Republican ballot along with the city’s only contested primary — the council at-large seat.

Republicans William Herald and Roger Mazzarella are seeking the council seat being vacated by at-large Councilman Terry Dunn, who did not seek re-election. The winner will face Democrat Bruce Jeffers in November.

With no contested Democratic races and no issues in the city of Bowling Green to vote on, the Wood County Board of Elections has been telling Democrats to stay home on May 3 unless they want to declare as Republicans, said Debbie Hazard, elections director.

The Ottawa County Board of Elections also is letting voters know there are no contested primaries in the city of Port Clinton. All candidates, including Republican Mayor Debra Hymore-Tester and her Democratic challenger, Vincent Leone, will appear on the November ballot.

In Napoleon, Ron Behm, chairman of the Henry County Republican Central Committee, is the lone candidate for mayor to replace Mayor Andy Small.

Republican voters in Henry County will choose among three candidates for municipal court judge to replace Judge John Collier, who becomes Henry County Common Pleas judge when Judge Keith P. Muehlfeld retires in May. David Grahn, Napoleon city law director, Amy Rosebrook, an assistant Henry County prosecutor, and Lisa Gerken-Schuller, managing attorney for the Defiance/Lima UAW Legal Services Plan, are seeking the GOP nod. The winner will face Democrat David Meekison, a Napoleon lawyer, in November.

In Fostoria, where the city charter calls for nonpartisan races, both candidates for mayor — incumbent John Davoli and retired Public Works Director Eric Keckler — will advance to the general election in November.

Incumbent Tiffin Mayor James Boroff is being challenged by 2nd Ward Councilman Aaron Montz in the Republican primary. Two Democrats — Kenneth Gaietto and Mark D. Hayes — are seeking their party’s nomination for mayor.

In Fremont, longtime Mayor Terry Overmyer is running unopposed in the Republican primary, although he’ll have an opponent in November. Democrats Jim Ellis and Don A. Nalley, Jr., are seeking that party’s nomination.

Defiance Mayor Bob Armstrong is being challenged by Charles A. Bakle for the Democratic nomination. Two Republicans — Robert Lawson and Michael McCann — also are seeking the office.

Independent candidates have until May 2 — the day before the primary — to file nominating petitions with the board of elections.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories