Sunday, February 14, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Tuesday, 5/6/2014

State Rep. Sears leads candidate backed by Tea Party organization


State Rep. Barbara Sears (R., Monclova Township) leads primary opponent Scott Allegrini by 228-129 in the first returns from the Lucas County Board of Elections in today’s primary election.

Ms. Sears is seeking a fourth term as state representative in the 47th House District, and Mr. Allegrini, a Walmart manager, is backed by the Tea Party organization Ohio Citizen.

The results include the absentee voter count, but none of the results from voting today.

In the race for the Wood County commissioner Republican nomination, appointed endorsed Republican Doris Herringshaw holds a commanding lead with 2,376 votes over 473 for James Matuszak and 226 for Kristi Kennelly with 51 of 98 precincts reporting.

In the GOP primary for the 9th Congressional District race, Richard May of Cleveland leads Robert Horrocks of Lakewood by 224-58. The district includes parts of five counties along Lake Erie. Incumbent Democrat U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur of Toledo was unopposed for her party's nomination.

Ben Roberts leads Kevin Haddad in the Republican primary contest for Lucas County commissioner 524-471. In the Democratic primary, incumbent Carol Contrada had 1,190 to 307 for Michael Hood.

In the race for Lucas County Domestic Relations Court, Lisa McGowan was leading Joseph Clarke 506-469. On the Democratic side, Jay Feldstein led John Coble by 915-492.

In the Democratic primary for an open Common Pleas Court seat, Ian English was in the lead with 712 to 528 for Laura Restivo and 311 for Richard Roberts.

Polls in Ohio closed at 7:30 p.m.

Staff writer Vanessa McCray contributed to this report.

Contact Tom Troy: tomtroy@theblade.com or 419--724-6058 or an Twitter @TomFTroy.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories