Thursday, May 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Ex-Perrysburg mayor honored

BOWLING GREEN — A former Perrysburg mayor is among the recipients of this year’s Spirit of Wood County Awards, announced Monday.

Nelson Evans, a former police chief who served as mayor for eight years until the end of 2013, will be recognized for the self-government award, one of several awards given out annually to Wood County residents by the county commissioners.

An award ceremony will be at 2 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Wood County Historical Center, 13660 County Home Rd., Bowling Green.

Other winners include Frances Weith of Bowling Green, who taught English at North Baltimore High School and was active in theater productions, who will receive the education for civic responsibility award and Mark Bushman, a Pemberville farmer, will get the agricultural leadership award.

Three people will be recognized posthumously. John Newlove, a real estate broker from Bowling Green, will be recognized for industrial/economic development. Max Rayle, an attorney from Bowling Green, will be recognized with the liberty through law/​human freedom award. John Welch of Perrysburg, publisher of Welch Publishing Co., will receive the Lyle R. Fletcher Good Citizenship Award.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…