Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Perrysburg elects new mayor


    Perrysburg mayoral candidate Tom Mackin speaks during a mayoral forum sponsored by the Perrysburg Chamber of Commerce.

    The Blade/Andy Morrison
    Buy This Image

  • FORUM21

    Incumbent Perrysburg Mayor Mike Olmstead makes the case for reelection Wednesday, September 20, 2017, at the Carranor Hunt and Polo Club in Perrysburg.

    The Blade/Katie Rausch
    Buy This Image


Thomas Mackin is the new mayor of Perrysburg after he defeated incumbent Mayor Michael Olmstead.

RELATED: Complete local election results

The former mayor lost to Mr. Mackin, a former city councilman and current general counsel for the Lucas Metropolitan Housing Authority, by nearly 27 percentage points, according to unofficial election results from the Wood County Board of Elections.

Mr. Mackin defeated Mr. Olmstead by 63.8 percent to 36.15 percent, with 100 percent of precincts reporting.

Mr. Mackin served on council from 1998 through 2015. The part-time mayoral position pays $28,000 annually.

The new mayor said he was thankful for the outpouring of support he received from the community.

“I’m looking forward to the opportunity to serve and do what we said we were going to do during the campaign,” he said. “We will work with the council and the community to address the issues residents expressed starting Jan. 1.”

Perrysburg’s City Council will see some new faces, with Haraz Ghanbari, 36 and Deborah Born, 55, joining incumbents Jim Matuszak, 53 and Barry VanHoozen, 58, who were re-elected.


In Maumee, six candidates were running for four City Council seats. All four incumbent candidates — Brent Buehrer, 53, Thomas Wagener, Jr., 58, Tim Pauken, 57, and Tracey Elmore, 53 — retained their seats on the council.


Five candidates were vying for three open seats. Incumbents Katie Cappellini, 55 and  Mary Westphal, 60 were re-elected. Newcomer Patrick Richardson, 26, ousted Jason Mishka.

Sylvania Mayor Craig Stough ran unopposed.


Incumbents Jerry Staczek, 55, and Caroline Zuchowski-Eckel, 45, and newcomers Bob Densic, 50, and Christopher Heban, 34 were elected to city council.


Village Council had five candidates seeking three seats. Incumbents Bill May, 77, and Louann Artiaga, 62, were re-elected. Waterville Township Police Chief Richard Bingham, 50, was also elected.

Ottawa Hills

In Ottawa Hills, Councilmen Jeffrey Gibbs, 57, and Rex Decker, 67, reclaimed their seats, and will be joined by Dana Dunbar, 52, Edward Shimborske III, 47.


Three candidates were vying for four spots on the Waterville City Council. Mary Duncan, 62 and John Rozic, 66 were re-elected to the Waterville City Council. Newcomer Anthony Bruno unseated Charles Larkins.


Mayor Michael Sefarian and city council candidates Dennis Walendzak, Terrance Reeves and James Seaman were unchallenged.


Randy Kozina and Louis Fahrbach will be joined by Pat Huntermark and Mark Stoner on City Council.

Township trustees

Jerusalem Township, Monclova Township, Richfield Township, Spencer Township, Springfield Township, Sylvania Township, Washington Township, and Waterville Township all had contested races for their boards of trustees.

Contact Javonte Anderson at janderson@theblade.com419-724-6065, or on Twitter @JavonteA.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…