LANSING, Mich. — Gov. Rick Snyder has signed into law Michigan’s first hunting and fishing license fee increases in more than 15 years.
The revamped fees will kick in March 1 and generate more revenue for wildlife, fisheries and habitat programs.
A new “base” hunting license will cost $11 for in-state residents, with lower rates for youths and seniors.
The base license will pay for hunting waterfowl, migratory birds and small game like rabbits. Separate fees will be levied for hunting certain species, and some will increase.
When the new fees take effect, Michigan will have 42 hunting and fishing license fees instead of the 227 it has today. Snyder, who signed the legislation Tuesday, says simplifying the license structure and raising more revenue will help maintain Michigan’s world-class habitat for years.
Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. Comments that violate these standards, or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, are subject to being removed and commenters are subject to being banned. To post comments, you must be a registered user on toledoblade.com. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.