Saturday, Apr 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Educators of the year honored

Sylvania School Board and administration recognize group


Front row (L-R): Tami Blue, Northview interactive media teacher and Lynn Nedrow, Timberstone science teacher (teacher of the year). Middle row (L-R): Carolyn Akins, Timberstone custodian, Stacy Anderson, Timberstone parent and Nicole Greenberg, Sylvan parent. Back row (L-R): Juan Rodriguez, McCord Para/Bus Driver, Lindsay Denny, Stranahan 2nd grade teacher, Joan McCarthy, Sylvan 4th grade teacher and Dawn Watson, District custodial supervisor. (Not pictured are Rose Albert, Hill View office secretary and Shelly Ferris, Sylvan volunteer.)

Enlarge | Buy This Image

The Sylvania School Board and administration held a recognition reception for those awarded educator of the year and others who excelled in administrative and staff roles in the district.

“This is our most favorite school board meeting because we get to honor our caring staff members,” Superintendent Brad Rieger told the honorees and family members gathered at Southview High School’s common area.

Eleven district employees were commended for their achievements in teaching, volunteering, and as support personnel. Each received an award and posed for a picture with Mr. Rieger and the board of education president, Vicki Donovan-Lyle, before the board meeting officially began Monday night.

Lynn Nedrow, Timberstone Junior High School science teacher, was awarded Teacher of the Year.

Educator of the Year was awarded to Tami Blue, Northview High School interactive media teacher; Lindsay Denny, Stranahan Elementary School third-grade teacher, and Joan McCarthy, Sylvan Elementary School fourth-grade teacher.

Administrator of the Year was awarded to Dawn Watson, custodial supervisor.

Support Staff of the Year was awarded to Carolyn Akins, Timberstone Junior High School custodian; Rose Albert, Hill View Elementary School secretary, and Juan Rodriguez, bus driver and McCord Junior High School cafeteria.

Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Stacy Anderson, Timberstone Junior High School parent; Shelly Ferris, Sylvan Elementary School volunteer, and Nicole Greenberg, Sylvan Elementary School parent.

The recognition program began more than 20 years ago. Each year honorees are nominated by a student, colleague, community member, or friend.

Contact Natalie Trusso Cafarello at: 419-206-0356, or, or on Twitter @natalietrusso.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…