Wednesday, August 05, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Saturday, 7/29/2006

Winners named for TAA, Refuses shows


Winners of the 88th Toledo Area Artists' exhibition were announced last night in a ceremony in the Great Gallery at the Toledo Museum of Art.

In addition, winners of the Salon des Refuses show at the Parkwood Gallery, across the street from the museum, were named last night.

This year, 350 people submitted slides of 889 works to the TAA contest, from which judges selected 116 pieces for the exhibition in the Canaday Gallery of the museum. The free show, continuing through Sept. 3, is the area's most prestigious contest. Winners shared $7,950 in awards.

The winners are:

Best of Show: Table by Shawn Morin.

First place: Untitled by Lepo and Portrait of Mary Thompson by Leslie Adams.

Second place: Isolation by Laura McCreery-Jordan; Room Three by Susan Mitchell, and Evolution, by Megan Merrill.

Third place: Mint Dish 52 by Jenny Crecvillo; Adam by Jeff Bloomer; Future Imperfect by Tim Brewer, and Covenant XXXII, by Elizabeth Mayhle.

The Molly Morpeth Canaday Award was presented to Holly Branstner for Frozen Epoch.

The Rose M. Reder Memorial Award: Out to Lunch Dwelling for a Tooth Fairy by Pamela Morris Thomford.

The Athena Art Society Award: Texas Hotel by Angie Zielinski.

The Toledo Friends of Photography Award: Thanksgiving by Lisa Ruggierio.

The Roulet Medal (for an outstanding painting, graphic, or sculpture): Teapot with Red Berries by Olga Nagorny.

The Israel Abramofsky Award of The Temple-Congregation Shomer Emunim: Silent Air by Linda Ziemke and Rex Fogt.

Arts Commission of Greater Toledo's Purchase Award for City of Toledo's Art in Public Buildings Program: Wachzaamheid by Craig Fisher.

Toledo Area Glass Guild's Dominick Labino Memorial Award: Contrast of Texture #3 by Dick Ditore.

The Salon des Refuses features 97 pieces submitted by 65 people who entered the TAA contest but were not selected. It is located in the Parkwood Gallery on the ground floor of the Professional Building, 1838 Parkwood Ave.

The Salon continues through Aug. 23, with gallery hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Winners, who shared $1,000, are:

Keith Hasenbalg, best of show for Flight (H5NI); Clayton Peterson, first place for The Flowers of Aaron's Field; Elizabeth Jordan, second place for Biddie; Kim Thanasiu, third place for I Will Not Bite My Sister;

William Jordan, excellence in photography for Teacher/Pupils - Pakistan Earthquake Relief Nov. 2005; Nina Assimakopoulos, excellence in figurative and portrait work for Ileana, I; Craig Sieboneck, excellence in sculpture for Table (Curve); Kelly Averill Savino, excellence in ceramics for Tiny Tea Set.

Honorable mentions were awarded to Ann Hymel for Man in Mustard; Jacki Way for Pop Culture, and Audrey Pobak for Gates of Rome.

Contact Tahree Lane at:


or 419-724-6075.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.