Tuesday, February 09, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 9/4/2014 - Updated: 1 year ago

Jeep vehicles to get updates in 2015

The 2015 Jeep Wrangler will receive upgrades, including an eight-speaker audio system. The 2015 Jeep Wrangler will receive upgrades, including an eight-speaker audio system.

Both of the Toledo-built Jeep vehicles are getting minor updates for the 2015 model year.

For the Jeep Cherokee, which was just launched last year, the biggest change is likely the addition of start-stop technology, which becomes standard on all V-6 Cherokees. The fuel-saving feature shuts down the engine while the vehicle is at a complete stop. The engine restarts automatically when the driver releases the brake.

RELATED ARTICLE: Toledo-built Jeep models help company cruise to new highs

There are also a handful of new standard and optional safety features. Backup cameras and automatic headlights, previously standard only with the Limited trim level, now come standard on the Latitude and Trailhawk models. Jeep is also offering a new optional SafetyTec package on Latitude, Limited, and Trailhawk models that includes blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-path detection, and parking assist.

Additionally, the Cherokee’s forward collision warning system has been upgraded to help the driver better avoid low-speed crashes.

The Wrangler gets a new standard eight-speaker audio system, while the optional premium package relocates the subwoofer under the cargo floor for storage room. The 2015 Wrangler also comes with a new standard Torx tool kit.

The Freedom Edition and Willys Wheeler packages carry over from 2014. There’s also a new Rubicon Hard Rock edition that takes last year’s Rubicon X package and adds a nine-speaker premium audio system and new grille inserts.

Both the Cherokee and Wrangler are built only at Chrysler’s Toledo Assembly Complex.

Contact Tyrel Linkhorn at tlinkhorn@theblade.com or 419-724-6134 or on Twitter @BladeAutoWriter.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories