Thursday, November 26, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 5/1/2013

BGSU's Plegar named MAC field athlete of the week

BOWLING GREEN — Bowling Green State University softball pitcher Paris Imholz was named Mid-American Conference East Division pitcher for the fourth time this season.

Last week Imholz, a sophomore from Antioch, Calif., went 2-0 by allowing just 10 hits in 16 shutout innings, striking out six along the way.

Imholz now is 16-6 this season for the Falcons, who are 25-19 overall and 8-10 in the league.

■ BOWLING GREEN — Sophomore Brooke Plegar was named Mid-American Conference field athlete of the week in women’s track.

Plegar won the championship flight of the hammer throw in the Ashland Alumni Open with a best of 215 feet, 7 inches, her second-best distance in the event this season and the sixth best in the country this year.

Plegar is ranked No. 5 in the country in the hammer, higher than any other MAC track performer.

■ Kendra Eitniear and James Kelly have been named Owens Communtiy College’s female and male athletes of the year.

Eitniear finished her career in women’s soccer as the school’s leading career scorer. She was named NJCAA Division I All-America honorable mention.

Kelly earned NJCAA Division II All-American honors and is the first player in Express men’s basketball history to achieve at least 1,000 points, 600 rebounds, 100 steals, and 100 blocks in his career.

Eitniear will continue her career at Tiffin University, while Kelly will attend the University of Miami (Fla.).

Other award winners were:

Women’s volleyball (Alyssa Meis, MVP; Molly Hilfinger, coaches award); men’s soccer (Nickyle Webber, MVP; David Ortega-Gonzalez, coaches award); softball (Olivia Reeder, MVP; Mareshah Scott, coaches award); baseball (Logan Shullick, MVP; Kody McCall, coaches award); men’s basketball (James Kelly, MVP; Jay Marquette, coaches award); women’s basketball (Mackenzie Heacock, MVP; Karahn Scott, coaches award; Bailee Adams, Mark Henry Award); women’s soccer (Jill Burkholder, MVP; Marissa Ramirez, coaches award); men’s golf (Blaze Hogan, MVP; Darren Gessner, coaches award).

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.