Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Barbara Hendel

Country Garden Club observes Bicentennial

When the Country Garden Club was established in 1932, ladies wore white gloves and hats to the meetings. Edna Knight, wife of W.W. Knight, was president.

Over the years, the roster of presidents has included an impressive list of names, including Bentley, Goodbody, Spitzer, Dodge, Orser, Sutherland, Mauk, and Reams.

On May 14, members -without hats and gloves - and their invited guests, mainly proud husbands, gathered at the 577 Foundation for a sneak peek at the club's show, “Celebrating the Bicentennial - Ohio: 1803-2003,” held May 15.


Lori Paton, left, and Lynne McCullough flank the award-winning `Indian War Bonnet' flower arrangement.


Flower arrangements, horticulture exhibits, photographs, and special displays included interpretations of moments in Ohio history, tributes to the Glass City, daily pioneer life in Ohio, Victorian elegance, the Union, and “Drums Along the Maumee.”

After the preview, dinner was served at Carranor Hunt and Polo Club.

According to chairmen Lori Paton and Lynne McCullough, the 18 judges who were from Chicago, Indianapolis, Detroit, Cleveland, and Cincinnati were so impressed with the show that special awards were presented to individuals, including Gretchen Downs, who did a conservation exhibit for the club's entrance.

Provisional members Melissa Kelly and Kathi Suder teamed up for an “Indian War Bonnet” flower arrangement and won best of show. Carol Bentley had tears in her eyes when she won best of show in horticulture. Margaret Hedlund was awarded first place in photography.

President of the elite group is Diane Wellstein; president-elect is Jan Landwehr.

THE SECOND annual Virginia Secor Stranahan Citizen of the Year Award dinner presented by the League of Women Voters of the Perrysburg Area was Tuesday at Carranor Hunt and Polo Club. This year's honoree was Bob Boyd, one of three finalists that included Adelaide Morse and Lois Rubright. Last year, the first year for the award, Judy Beck was honored; finalists were Wayne Leatherman and the late James Fraser.

The award, named for the late Mrs. Stranahan, is given to a man or woman who has been active in the community and has made a profound impact on the Perrysburg area. Three finalists are selected each year, and the winner is chosen by a panel of non-League judges.

Committee chairmen were Mary Clark and Polly White, assisted by Joyce Maines, Ann Dana, Wava Hawker, Mary Mennell, Pat Jacobsen, and Vicki Ewald.

THE Daffy-Dill Swing, the Westchester Dance Assembly's spring dance, was Saturday at Zenobia Hall. Daffodils set a sunny scene for dancers who whirled and twirled all night long, stopping only to rest, sample hors d'oeuvres, quench a thirst, and say hello to friends. A swing here, and a foxtrot there, smattered with a cha-cha and a tango for spice, kept the crowd going as the Duane Malinowski band played. Co-presidents are Bill and Gloria Carpenter.

The organization, dedicated to keeping ballroom dance alive and well, meets September through May. Incoming co-presidents are George and Ruth Judd.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…