Monday, May 30, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Saturday, 12/3/2005

Taking a closer look at the author, his works

Here is a list of the Narnia books by C.S. Lewis, as well as a list of some recently published books about him:

There is some debate as to what order the books should be read. Lewis once suggested that they be read in chronological Narnia order, which would put The Magician's Nephew first, followed by The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. But others believe that reading the books in publication order better preserves the series' magic. This listing is by publication date:

1950: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

1951: Prince Caspian

1952: Voyage of the Dawn Treader

1953: The Silver Chair

1954: The Horse and His Boy

1955: The Magician's Neph-ew

1956: The Last Battle

Into the Wardrobe: C.S. Lewis and the Narnia Chronicles by David Downing (Jossey-Bass, $19.95).

Jack's Life by Douglas Gresham (Mr. Lewis' step-son) (Broadman & Holman, $16.99).

The Narnian by Alan Jacobs (HarperSanFranciso, $25.95)

C.S. Lewis & Narnia For Dummies by Richard Wagner (Wiley, $19.99)

Narnia Beckons (Broadman & Holman, $24.99)

Further Up & Further In by Bruce Edwards (Broadman & Holman, $12.99)

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest