Loading…
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
HomeA&EBooks
Published: Sunday, 7/24/2011

A new hero for fans of Tom Clancy books

BY NICK OWCHAR
LOS ANGELES TIMES
Author Tom Clancy fields questions at the Norfolk Naval Base in Norfolk, Va., in this 2004 file photo. Author Tom Clancy fields questions at the Norfolk Naval Base in Norfolk, Va., in this 2004 file photo.
ASSOCIATED PRESS Enlarge

The big news for the Tom Clancy brotherhood was the return of the Jack Ryans, father and son, last December in Dead or Alive -- until then, the Ryan saga hadn't made an appearance since 2003's The Teeth of the Tiger. It was easy to assume that, with a seven-year gap, Clancy was just slowing down.

That assumption is wrong. Another thriller, Against All Enemies, landed in June and is chock full of espionage and treachery and rivaled only by the Yellow Pages in size. Where Clancy had been helped with Dead or Alive by Grant Blackwood, Clancy is aided in this new one, which introduces us to hero Maxwell Moore, by Peter Telep (though Clancy's is the only face you'll see on the book's dust jacket).

Coauthors and with-authors are nothing new -- they're a routine part of the James Patterson brand (he employs multiple co-scriveners to keep his varied heroes in action). You see the same thing with other biggies in the mystery and thriller genres. For instance, Clive Cussler and Mary Higgins Clark have made cowriters a family affair, sharing the bylines of some of their books with their children.

Against All Enemies revolves around the world of Moore, a former Navy SEAL and CIA paramilitary operations officer. The book opens with a devastating attack off the coast of Pakistan. A U.S. ship carrying a Taliban prisoner finds itself suddenly under attack in a scene that's signature Clancy:

"A flare burst overhead, peeling back the night and drawing deep shadows across the decks of both patrol boats. Moore looked across the sea and saw it, a thousand meters out, rising up out of the waves, a nightmare with imposing black sail and dull black decks fully awash as she breached, her bow pointed at them."

A rocket attack destroys the ship and Moore's the sole survivor. What drives him, like many heroes in Clancy's books, is revenge: In looking for the cell responsible for the attack, however, Moore stumbles into deeper, stranger conspiracies, including an unexpected alliance between a drug cartel on the U.S.-Mexico border and Taliban fighters who have been charged by their leaders to "bring the jihad back to the United States."

Of course Against All Enemies doesn't have that Cold War-era mystique that Clancy's earlier books possess -- like Le Carre, Clancy in his own way is still seeking his footing in the contemporary world of terrorism, tribal menace, provincial thugs, and shadow groups. But there are still plenty of bits of what his fans have always enjoyed most -- the gadgetry. After Moore plants a GPS beacon on a van containing hostages, he turns to his smartphone:

"He activated his smartphone's camera and thumbed on the ARS (augmented reality system) app that would turn the phone into a computer-enhanced imaging device by superimposing wire frames over the images and displaying data boxes that indicated the size and range of various structures and targets within his field of view."

Can you hear me now?

Against All Enemies gives Clancy fans ideal reading for the summer months. At 756 pages, though, I'd make one recommendation to those wanting to travel light: Read it as an e-book instead.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories