Sunday, May 27, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Big Ten unveils new logo, division names

Beginning next season, when Nebraska officially enters the league, the 12 conference members will be split into two division --- Legends and Leaders. Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said the divisions were named in honor of past Big Ten legends and the league's mission to develop leaders. Michigan is a member of the Legends division along with Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern. Making up the Leaders division is Ohio State, Illinois, Indiana, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The league also introduced names for 18 trophies, selecting past luminaries from the league to honor. The Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy, which pays tribute to coaches Amos Alonzo Stagg (Chicago) and Joe Paterno (Penn State) will be given to the winner of the league's championship game. The Grange-Griffin Champion Game MVP honors Illinois' Red Grange and Ohio State's Archie Griffin.

The league's new logo showcases block letters, with a light blue “B1G” stacked on top of a white “TEN.”

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…