Saturday, November 28, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 10/11/2007

Birmingham Hall of Fame to induct new members


The first basketball team from Toledo to win the Ohio State CYO Basketball Championship is slated to be honored Saturday during the Birmingham Hall of Fame's 31st annual inductee and scholarship dinner.

In addition, three distinguished citizens, two athletes, and two businessmen will be inducted that day, said Raymond Zak, hall of fame president.

The nonprofit association publicly honors those who attended one of the schools in the historic Hungarian community and contributed to civic life, athletics, or business. More than 360 people have been inducted since the first banquet in 1977, Mr. Zak said.

This year's event will be held in St. Stephen's School Hall, 2018 Consaul St. in East Toledo. A social hour is to begin at 4:30 p.m. with dinner following at 6 p.m. Tickets, costing $20, can be purchased by calling Bob Barciz at 419-691-6484.

The basketball team being honored is the St. Stephen's 1958-59 boys' CYO team. Players ended the regular season and tournaments with a 35-0 record, making them the first team to go through the tournaments undefeated, said Mr. Barciz, one of the team's coaches.

Both he and Frank Vamos coached the team, made up of John Brezvai, Ron Fisher, Paul Hollosi, John Hornyak, Steve Hornyak, Tom Kovacs, Paul Nyers, Steve Petro, Bill Schultz, John Vamos, Joe Vargo, and Richard Zak.

"I think it's a great honor," Mr. Barciz said. "It's going to be quite a special night for all of us, I think."

The individuals who will be inducted into the

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.