Thursday, Jun 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio



Laura Loeb of Toledo, a home-schooled student, has received scholarships from the University of Dayton that cover full tuition. The presidents scholarship is valued at $6,500 per year, and the John W. Berry, Sr., honors scholarship at $13,070. The awards are renewable.

Maxwell Burkett of Toledo, a senior at Whitmer High School, has received a deans' award scholarship of $7,000 per year to attend Columbus College of Art and Design. The merit scholarship is renewable for four years.

Maxwell won the scholarship after submitting a digital graphic design portfolio to the art competition held by the college. Submissions were judged by a team of faculty members.

Leslie Ann Chambers of Maumee, a member of Modern Woodmen of America, was awarded a $1,750 per year fraternal college scholarship by the fraternal benefit society. Selection was based on academic achievement and national test scores, extracurricular activities, and leadership and character.

Leslie Ann plans to attend the University of Toledo.

Allison Kretz, a senior at Maumee High School, and Sarah Connelly, a senior at Perrysburg HIgh School, have been awarded $1,000 scholarships by AAA Northwest Ohio.

They are former AAA school-safety patrollers in the region. They plan to attend Bowling Green University in the fall.

Allison Sproul of Bowling Green has received a Frazier Reams public affairs undergraduate fellowship from Bowling Green State University.

The award of $7,000 is given to college seniors who plan a career in public service.

Allison is a broadcast journalism major who has been a producer, an anchor, and a reporter for BG24 News, a local cable newscast. She had an internship last fall with WTVG-TV, Channel 13, in Toledo.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…