Sunday, Jun 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio



Chelsea Koenigseker, a senior at Sylvania Northview High School, has been accepted to the honors college of Kent State University. She has been awarded more than $6,000 in scholarships. The member of the National Honor Society and student government has maintained a 4.0 grade-point average. She plans are to major in advertising.

The following area high school seniors have been awarded $2,000 two-year scholarships by the Owens Community College board of trustees.

Toledo scholarship winners are Christopher Russell, Life Skills Center of Toledo; Rachael Garling, Notre Dame Academy; Loryn Koehler, Phoenix Academy; Hollie Lichtenwalner, Rogers High School; Steven Harvey, Springfield High School; James Marquis, St. Francis de Sales High School; Elizabeth Huber, Start High School; Charlotte Malin, Toledo School for the Arts; Jennifer Kusz, Toledo Technology Academy; Jenna Hamel, Whitmer High School, and Joseph Hatfield, Woodward High School.

Area winners include Heather Hobson, Cardinal Stritch High School; Crystal Grimes, Lake High School; Kelly Bear, Northwood High School; Alex Drozdowicz, Perrysburg High School; Heather Schmidt, Rossford High School, and Kendra McGraw, Toledo Christian High School.

Also receiving scholarships are Molly Jakubec, Anthony Wayne High School; Elizabeth Riley, Bowling Green High School; Brett Riffner, Otsego High School; James Bake, Jr., Clay High School; Matthew Wolf, Eastwood High School; Steven Casey, Elmwood High School; Ryan Griffin, Emmanuel Baptist Christian High School; Lindsay Pertner, Genoa High School; Eric Heinze, Maumee High School; Bethanna Sheets, Oak Harbor High School; Jean Stasa, Penta Career Center, and Sarah Wright, Performing Arts School of Toledo.

Scholarships valued at $1,000 each have been awarded to the following Waite High School students by Waite High, Inc., the alumni group: Shanita Babb, Bianca Coates, Alicia Guerra, Robert Holdren, Gennett McCarber, Rebecca Robinson, Allison Walters, Mathew Williams, and Christopher Yenrick.

The awards were presented at a scholarship breakfast May 12.

Michelle Karpinski of Toledo, a student at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Mich., has received a $600 scholarship from Birmingham Musicale, a Birmingham, Mich., chapter of National Federation of Music Clubs.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…