Wednesday, May 23, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio



Michael Ellis of Oregon, a first-year student at Earlham College in Richmond, Ind., has been named a Bonner Scholar at Earlham. He will have the opportunity to do volunteer work while a student and receive financial reimbursement for the time.


Jodie Garzon, a computer information services major, has received a $1,000 scholarship from the Davis College Foundation. Ms. Garzon has a 4.0 grade- point average and has volunteered in projects organized by her church.


Lisa Haas of Whitehouse, a student in the nursing program at Owens Community College, has received a $2,000 Reita Rivers Award from the Jeanette Rankin Foundation. Ms. Haas is one of 65 students nationwide to receive the award, which is given to qualified female applicants age 35 or older who are enrolled in an accredited higher education institution.

Ms. Haas' volunteer work includes the Cherry Street Mission in Toledo; she has also volunteered time with a local therapeutic horseback-riding program. She also received a Private Industry Collaborative Scholarship of $500.


Several area students have received the following scholarships from the Owens Community College Foundation.

Joyce Hiatt of Northwood received a $1,000 George D. Allesee Memorial Scholarship. Dustin Brown of Bowling Green and Todd Kapp of Curtice both received a $850 Agribusiness Scholarship Greenleaf Award.

Toledo residents Jessica Keating, Christina Krontz, Elizabeth Stewart, and Grace Livingston as well as Danielle Schroeder of Wauseon and Kathleen Varga of Curtice each received a $500 President Daniel H. Brown Scholarship.

Valerie McCampbell and Chonelle Williams, both of Toledo, received $500 Central West Area Council Scholarships. Corporate Partners Scholarships of $500 went to Gene Brown and Adam Welsh of Toledo.

Jennifer Clark, Joseph Mack, and Deanna Vasquez of Toledo and Erica Jaso of Millbury each received a $500 DaimlerChrysler Corporation Fund Diamante Latino Scholarship. Mr. Mack and Ms. Vasquez also received $800 Owens Corning Diamante Latino Scholarships.

Angela Boren and Esquarteesha Collins of Toledo both received Ford Scholarships of $900. Tiffany Shinavar ot Toledo received a $1,000 Chuck Holsclaw Memorial Scholarship, and Kelly Jefferis of Rossford received a $900 Jones-Hamilton Co. Scholarship.

Brooke Affholder of Sylvania was awarded a $1,800 Mom's House Scholarship. Joyce Hiatt of Northwood and Nissan Semler of Toledo each received a $500 National City Diamante Latino Scholarship.

Owens Community Bookstore Scholarships of $500 were awarded to Cassandra Davis of Maumee, Lily Ingraham of Bowling Grteen, Craig Smith of Toledo, Julie Warnecke of Monclova, Eric Warner of Woodville, and Kailey Winter of Perrysburg.

Owens Community College Foundation Scholarships of $500 went to Gretchen Avery and Sherrill Hiser of Bowling Green, Courtney Boose and Eudondra Butts of Toledo, Diane DeHoyos of Perrysburg, Christie Martinez of Oregon, April Miller of Swanton, and Carolyn Tibbetts of Maumee. Ms. DeHoyos also received a $600 Spanish American Organization Scholarship, as did Natalia Bautista of Toledo.

Derrick Midkiff of Northwood received a $1,000 Perrysburg Rotary Service Foundation Scholarship.

Thomas Dolt, Oliver Sawers, and Adam Welsh of Toledo, Jeremiah Cordy of Elmore, Luke Loar of Blissfield, and Jacob Perry of Rossford each received $1,000 Toledo Automobile Dealers Association Scholarships.

Jennifer Clark, Kristina Mitchell, Danielle Sindel, and Dana Turner of Toledo each received a $500 TRW Foundation Scholarship.

A $500 UPS Scholarship was awarded to Cassandra Davis of Maumee.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…