Saturday, November 28, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 5/7/2008

Monroe, Lenawee schools win 18-mill renewals


School districts in Monroe and Lenawee counties generally fared well in yesterday's election, in which many were seeking to renew an 18-mill nonhomestead property tax.

The counties' clerks last night were reporting that voters approved such renewals in 13 districts, including Airport, Bedford, Blissfield, Mason, and Monroe.

The 18-mill tax - the maximum allowed by state law - is levied only on commercial, rental, and vacation-home properties that are not primary residences.

The revenue is earmarked for operating expenses.

A mill is equal to about $1 for every $1,000 in property valuation.

Voters, however, struck down two bond issues totaling 7.2 mills for Tecumseh Public Schools. The first request failed 47-53, the second 34-66.

In light of the loss, Superintendent Michael McAran said the district will be forced to take money from its operating budget to fund some of the most urgent repairs.

The $36.7 million the two tax issues were expected to raise over 22 years was to be used to repair roofs, build additions, and update technology district-


"The people of Tecumseh have chosen the type of facilities they would like to attend," he said.

Monroe Public and Clinton Community school districts won approval for 1-mill sinking fund taxes, which will provide funds for basic facilities' repairs.

Morenci Area Schools also won a 0.4-mill sinking fund issue.

Ida Public Schools won renewal for its 17.47-mill, nonhomestead tax renewal, according to Ida Township Clerk Donald Appleman.

School board races also were decided in many districts.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.