Saturday, May 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


BCSN student, teacher of year pick up checks


Veronica Pinciotti, left, general manager of Buckeye CableSystem's local stations, presents a check to student of the year Keon Pearson, of St. Francis de Sales, and BCSN's Tom Cole, far right, presents a check to teacher of the year Jackie Kane of St. Ursula Academy.


Keon Pearson and Jackie Kane were named student and teacher of the year, respectively, at BCSN's fifth annual scholarship awards dinner at the Pinnacle on May 16.

Mr. Pearson is a senior at St. Francis de Sales and is to attend Harvard University in the fall. Ms. Kane is a teacher at St. Ursula Academy.

The eight local students recommended for the award along with Mr. Pearson were Patricia Castillo of Waite, Laura Denyer of Northview, Jennifer Hollen of Whiteford, Connor Kenney of Start, Isabelle Lishewski of St. Ursula, Olivia O'Reilly of Southview, and Adam Weber of Perrysburg.

The eight teachers recommended along with Ms. Kane were Chuck Cox of Rossford, Allison Mackin of Maumee, Stacey Miller of Maumee, Marcia Punsalan of Clay, Jim Schall of Springfield, Becky Schardt of Waite, and Jeanette Utter of Rogers.

The student of the year program, administered by Toledo Community Foundation, recognizes seniors who will be attending an accredited school of higher education in the United States.

A student of the month was chosen each month from October, 2010, to May from applications submitted by counselors at high schools within the Buckeye CableSystem Toledo service area.

Each student of the month qualifies for a $1,500 scholarship.

The student of the year scholarship is worth a minimum of $16,000 toward tuition, room and board on campus, books, and fees.

The scholarship is awarded in increments of $4,000 annually, provided the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and full-time status.

This is the third year BCSN and Toledo Community Foundation offered the teacher of the year program for exemplary educators in the area to be recognized for the difference they make in the lives of students.

One teacher of the month was announced each month, and from this group, one teacher of the year was chosen.

The teacher of the year receives a $1,000 cash award, a gift for his or her classroom valued up to $1,500, and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in his or her name from which one scholarship will be awarded through the school annually in perpetuity.

Both programs are to be offered again through the eligible schools in August.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…