Saturday, July 04, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 2/23/2003

District wrestling: Waite's Guerra, Johnson win individual crowns

HILLIARD, Ohio - Antonio Guerra and Josh Johnson of Waite won individual championships in the Division I district wrestling tournament at Darby High yesterday, pacing the Indians to a second-place team finish.

Pickerington won the title with 141.5 points to Waite's 91. Whitmer placed 10th with 62 and Fremont Ross was 16th with 43.

Andrew Legg (189 pounds) of Fremont Ross and Danny Johnson (215) of Sandusky also won championships, while Dan Gurney of Whitmer suffered his first loss of the season, 4-2, in the championship match at 152.

Johnson scored a major decision over Brent Saunders of Grove City, 18-7 for the 171 title.

Guerra downed Anthony Ciraky of Westerville South 8-3 in the final bout at 140.

Waite also enjoyed a second-place finish from Kyle Holliday at 103 pounds and a fourth from Antonio Ramirez, who defaulted in the consolation final at 135.

Brad Marzec of St. Francis DeSales placed third at 145 and Ross' Brock Davis defaulted in the consolation bout at 125.

GALION, Ohio - J.D. Bergman of Oak Harbor pinned Josh Ohl of Ontario in 1:31 in the championship bout at 189 pounds in the Division II tournament here.

Bergman ran his season record to 39-0 with four straight falls in the tournament, including the finale over the previously unbeaten Ohl (37-1).

Walsh Jesuit walked off with the team title with 189 points to 135.5 for runner-up St. Vincent-St. Mary.

Bellevue (108), Clyde (99.5) and Maumee (80.5) were third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Jonathan Taylor of Clyde won the championship at 140 and Bellevue's Luke Spurlock prevailed at 135.

Maumee's Justin Schutte (171) and Brett Boggs (275) placed second, as did Eastwood's Kent Smith (152) and Bellevue's Joe Smith (130).

Placing third were Jeff Henneman (145) of Maumee, Clyde's J.R. Ysaguirre (119) and T.C. Hoffman (130) and Owen Schaefer of Perkins (103).

Ryan Cubberly (103) and Ben Llanas (112) of Eastwood, Steve Tajblik of Napoleon (125), Oak Harbor's Justin Slauterbeck (140), Kevin Riggleman (152) of Bellevue and Jeremy Carpenter (189) of Maumee all placed fourth.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest