Monday, May 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

St. Francis, Bowling Green win at cross country regional

TIFFIN - St. Francis de Sales fended off City League rival St. John's Jesuit yesterday in the Division I regional cross country meet at Hedges-Boyer Park, 89-108.

Strongsville finished third at 132 and Northview earned the final ticket to the state meet with 153 points for fourth.

Lexington's Tony Jordanek won the race in 15:48.33.

Zach Graham led St. Francis with a time of 16:19.42 - ninth overall but seventh among those running for team scores. St. John's Joe Miller ran a 16:10.81 - fifth overall and fourth among those running for teams.

Four teams and 16 individuals advance in Division I.

In the Division II boys meet where three teams and 12 individuals advance, Edison won with 74 points to 101 for Galion and 117 for Wauseon.

Delta's Evan Gaynor was the top individual with a time of 16:03.04. Eastwood's Jimmy O'Brien ran a 16:36.00 - sixth overall.

In boys Division III, five teams and 20 runners advance.

The advance teams are Lima Central Catholic, 99; Ashland Crestview, 123; Old Fort, 126; Wayne Trace, 136, and Lakota, 166. Holgate's Jason Ordway posted the best time - 16:14.19. Bowling Green's girls won the Division I girls meet with Bobcat Christy Titus winning easily in 18:32.88.

Bowling Green totaled 59 points. Notre Dame earned the final qualifying spot, fourth at 123.

Alli McMaster led Notre Dame in 19:20.76 - seventh overall and sixth among team runners.

In girls Division II, four teams and 16 runners advance.

Napoleon won the meet with 56 points,. Otsego's Julia Weisenborn won in 19:16.07.

And in girls Division II, five teams and 20 runners advance.

Liberty-Benton won with 64 points. Ayersville's Audra Brown won in 19:29.30.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…