Monday, Jun 18, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Delta boys claim first league crown in 23 years

MONTPELIER - Evan Gaynor captured the 1600 and 3200-meter races and Jeremy Lee took the 800 to lead the Delta boys to their first Northwest Ohio Athletic League trackand field championship since 1983, while the Wauseon girls yesterday claimed their first league crown since 1995.

Delta, which also won the 3200 relay on Tuesday, finished with 123 points to runner-up Archbold's 96.5. Patrick Henry finished third (92).

The Panthers sealed the title when Gaynor and sophomore Nick Thomas finished 1-2 in the 3200. Gaynor won in 10:03.39. He took the 1600 in 4:31.04. Thomas was third in that race behind Bryan runner-up Manuel Gonzalez.

"We have come a long ways in a short time," Delta coach Jeff Taylor said, referring to the Panthers' last-place finish two years ago with just 15 points.

"Winning the league title is a big accomplishment for the school because our kids have finally bought themselves into bringing success into the track program at Delta."

Lee captured the 800 in 2:00.14, besting Bryan's Matthew Necomer (2:02.82).

Paul Smith of Liberty Center was also a double winner on the boys' side. He edged Patrick Henry's Drew Kuesel in the 100 in 10.99 seconds and beat PH's Brian Yarnell in the 200 in 22.82.

Likewise, Archbold's Dan Yoder won the 110 hurdles handily in 15.16 and was more than a full second ahead in the 300 hurdles (40.31).

Meanwhile, Yarnell took part in winning 400, 800 and 1600 relays for Patrick Henry - along with Nick Powers, Zach Bonner, Drew Kuesel, Josh Strub, Kyle Brubaker and Tom Busch.

Wauseon's Kyle Borton doubled up in the shot put and discus on Tuesday.

Liberty Center senior Kasey Bodenbender won the 400 in 52.58.

Freshman Holly Baird and sophomore Jessica Jones led the way for the Wauseon girls, who finished with 131.5 points while runner-up Archbold totaled 94.33. Montpelier was third (76.33).

"What we needed to do tonight, they went out and did it," Indians coach Robin Fisher said. "And the girls set their goals high. It's been over 10 years since we won our last league title."

Baird took the 1600 by more than eight seconds in 5:25.78 - her sister Chelsea was second - won the 3200 by 37 seconds in 11:41.73 and ran a leg on Wauseon's winning 1600 relay.

Jones won the 400 in 1:01.46 and also ran a leg on the 1600 relay.

Liberty Center's Sarah Koch won the 100 hurdles in 15:37 and was second in the 300 to Swanton sophomore Kristen Smith, who clocked in in 47.71.

Evergreen's Natalie Creque claimed the 100 in 12.80 and Swanton's Abbey LaVigne was second. LaVigne turned the tables in the 200, taking first in 26.70 with Creque coming in second.

Delta freshman Andrea Mohler was first in the 800, clocking in at 2:23.88 to runner-up Katrina Gobrogge of Archbold (2:23.88).

Archbold won the 400 relay behind Jordan Fidler, Ashlie Horst, Melinda Sauder and Haley Frank in 52.62 while Montpelier finished second.

The Locomotives did claim victory in the 800 relay with Kayla Briner, Kate Michael, Tabbie Davis and Britt Thorp posting a time of 1:51.17. The Blue Streaks settled for second in that event.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…