Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

NWOAL: Archbold streaks past Delta

ARCHBOLD - If it wasn't over before it started, it was pretty much determined shortly thereafter.

Archbold streaked to a 16-2 lead after one quarter, then 34-9 by halftime on the way to a 71-29 victory over Delta that provided an NWOAL championship.

Justin Rupp scored 16 points, Gene Goering 13 and Colton Martinez and Trey Smith 10 each for the Blue Streaks (15-4, 8-0).

Nate Jackson led Delta (7-11, 2-6) with six points.

Archbold committed only eight turnovers and forced 21.

"We're really proud of or team and happy for our seniors to go out as NWOAL champs," coach Doug Krauss said.

Patrick Henry 71,

Wauseon 62

HAMLER - Wauseon's Kevin Elson won the individual scoring battle with Patrick Henry's Kyle Tietje 37-31. But Tietje got more help as the Patriots won the battle for second place in the league.

Zach Botjer added 22 points for Patrick Henry (13-5, 6-1) and Kevin Tietje had 12 points. Kyle Tietje also grabbed nine rebounds as the Patriots won on the boards 23-21.

Richar Russell added 12 points for the Indians (13-5, 6-2).

Turnovers were also about even as Wauseon committed 19 to Patrick Henry's 18.

Evergreen 62, Bryan 49

METAMORA - Evergreen had four players finish in double figures, led by Chad Mossing's 15 points, as the Vikings cruised.

Evergreen (9-10, 4-4) outscored Bryan 17-9 in the second quarter to take a 35-22 lead into halftime.

Travis Ryan and Corey Truckor chipped in with 14 points apiece for the Vikings, while Brock Bates added 10.

Austin Alabata led Bryan (4-14, 3-5) with 15 points. Matt Jones had 12.

Points of Interest
Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…