Wednesday, Jun 20, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Buford, Howard win top district honors

Libbey senior star William Buford picked up his third straight boys player of the year honor, and Waite sophomore standout Natasha Howard garnered her first top player designation on the girls' side to highlight the 2008 Associated Press Northwest Ohio all-district selections.

The 6-foot-5 Buford - who is set to play at Ohio State University and has already been named to two All-American teams - was named player of the year in Division II. He averaged 22.9 points, 11.1 rebounds and 5.6 assists to lead the Cowboys to an 18-2 regular-season record, their second straight City League title, and a No. 4 final state ranking.

As a sophomore, Buford shared D-I district player of the year honors in 2006 with St. Francis de Sales guard Darryl Roberts, and last season repeated that D-I honor by himself en route to a first-team All-Ohio selection.

Howard, a 6-3 forward, led the CL in scoring (17.3) and rebounding (12.3) in helping Waite to a 13-7 record and runner-up finish in the City. She shared player of the year honors with Jessica Jenkins of Marion Harding. Like Buford, Howard was also named CL player of the year.

Waite's Dave Pitsenbarger and Perrysburg's Mark Schrock took top boys and girls coaching honors, respectively, in Division I.

First-team boys selections in D-I included Waite senior guard Khari Riley (16.6 points, 9.3 rebounds), Whitmer's Purdue-bound senior guard Ryne Smith (18 points), Southview junior guard Tim Hausfeld (19.7 points), and Findlay junior guard Luke Kraus (21.3 points).

T.J. Lindsay, a 6-2 senior guard from 16-4 Mansfield Senior (17.0 points, 4.9 rebounds), was voted the boys player of the year in Division I

Joining Howard on the girls D-I first team were Anthony Wayne junior Allison Papenfuss (21.1 points, 13.7 rebounds), who has committed to Bowling Green State University. Also named to the D-I girls first team were Start junior Yolanda Richardson (11.8 points, 11.9 rebounds), Central Catholic junior Brianna Jones (14.1 points, 9.3 rebounds), and Perrysburg senior Nicole Parrish (14.7 points, 7.0 rebounds).

Ninth-ranked Central (17-3) won the City League girls championship, and Anthony Wayne (18-2) and Perrysburg (16-4) shared the Northern Lakes League girls title.

Buford was joined on the D-II boys first team by senior guard Chase Munoz (12.1 points, 7.7 assists) of 19-1 Northern Ohio League champion Fostoria, and junior guard Alex Gillett (15.5 points, 8.1 rebounds) of 17-3 Sandusky Bay Conference champion Clyde. Fostoria's Rick Renz shared top boys coaching honors in D-II with Nick Bertke of Western Buckeye League champion Lima Shawnee.

Cierra Bravard of 19-1 Sandusky Bay Conference champion Sandusky Perkins was named D-II girls player of the year, and Brian Stetler of Celina took top girls coaching honors in D-II.

In Division III, four-year Archbold starter Gene Goering (20.1 points, 8.5 rebounds), the school's all-time scoring leader, was named boys player of the year after helping the 16-4 Blue Streaks to a NWOAL title.

Joining Goering on the first team were sophomore guard Aaron Craft (18.5 points) of top-ranked, 20-0 Blanchard Valley Conference champion Liberty-Benton, and 6-7 junior forward Phillip Beans (18.8 points, 11.3 rebounds) of 17-3 Toledo Area Athletic Conference co-champion Ottawa Hills.

Genoa's Jeff Overmyer, who guided the 16-4 Comets to their first Suburban Lakes League title in 12 years, took top boys coaching honors in D-III.

Genoa's 6-3 senior center Brittany Darling (18.9 points, 11.6 rebounds) was joined on the Division III girls first team by senior guard Brooke Morgart (15.2 points) of Elmwood. Their teams shared the SLL girls title.

Also named to the D-III girls first team were junior guard Taylor Langenderfer (18.3 points) of Evergreen, and sophomore guard/forward Amanda Hyde (16.8 points) of BVC champion Liberty-Benton.

Margaretta senior Cayla Keegan was named D-III girls player of the year, and Liberty-Benton's Nate Irwin shared top girls coaching honors in D-III with Tinora's Rich Thiel.

In Division IV, 6-6 junior forward Ethan Michael (15.3 points, 10.1 rebounds) of 19-1 TAAC co-champion Toledo Christian was named to the boys first team along with senior forward Matt Phillips (20.8 points, 7.4 rebounds) of Van Buren. Those two teams will meet for a D-IV district title for the second straight year tonight at Liberty-Benton.

Also selected to the first team in D-IV were senior wing Kyle Tietje (21.1 points, 7.7 rebounds) of Patrick Henry and senior forward Jacob Drerup (19.8 points, 10.1 rebounds) of Arlington.

Senior forward Zac Dysert (20.3 points, 9.1 rebounds) of 18-2 Ada was named D-IV player of the year, adding to his All-Ohio football honors at quarterback the past two year. Top small-school boys coaching honors were shared by Ayersville's Marvin Retcher, New Knoxville's Dan Hegemier and Plymouth's Brad Turson.

Senior guard Dani Papenfus (13.8 points) of 20-0 Midland Athletic League champion Fostoria St. Wendelin was joined on the D-IV girls first team by senior forward Molly Boetz (14.2 points, 8.5 rebounds) of 20-0 Buckeye Border Conference champion Stryker.

Also named to the first unit were senior guard Jackie Reinhart (10.1 points) of New Riegel, senior forward Erica King (13.5 points) of Pettisville, and senior center Gina Beining (10.3 points, 10.6 rebounds) of Ottoville.

Kayla Mullins of 19-1 Upper Scioto Valley was named D-IV girls player of the year, and Aaron Smith of St. Wendelin was named coach of the year.

The all-district teams were selected by an assigned nine-member media panel from northwest Ohio.

Points of Interest
Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…