Saturday, May 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Sidelines: Green Bears put 2 on All-Ohio soccer

Ottawa Hills, which won the Division III boys soccer state championship, had two players earn All-Ohio honors in voting by the Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association.

Forward Eliot Browarsky was the only junior on the 18-man first team, while senior Sam Kuehnle, a midfielder, was chosen for the second team.

Also on the second team were senior forward Andrew Koch of Ottoville and senior midfielder Ryan Mitchell of Liberty-Benton.

The Division I boys first team includes three players from the Northern Lakes League senior defender Jamie Dollar of Perrysburg, senior midfielder Kyle Scharfenberg of Northview and junior forward Logan Lipinski of Anthony Wayne.

Two more NLL standouts, senior midfielder Daniel Cooperider of Northview and senior forward Mike Mangotic of Anthony Wayne, were voted to the second team.

Anthony Wayne s Francis Stephens was named the D-Iassistant coach of the year.

The Division II boys team included senior forward Eric Brickner of Ottawa-Glandorf and senior midfielder Matt Demichiei of Napoleon, while the second team included senior midfielder Ross Evers of Napoleon and Cody Katschke of Genoa.

Senior forward Stephanie Rantschler of Northview was named to the Division I girls first team. On the second team were junior forward Kate Allen of Anthony Wayne, junior forward Kirsten Goins of Perrysburg, freshman forward Courtney Hendrix of Northview, junior midfielder Kailey Paszko of Maumee and junior midfielder Meghan Scharer of Clay.

The Division II girls second team had sophomore midfielder Alicia Drewes of Archbold, junior midfielder Amanda Hyde of Liberty-Benton, junior defender Miranda Kitchen of Bryan and junior defender Emily Magg of Ottawa-Glandorf.

Otsego football coach Dale Bernard has resigned after three seasons.

Bernard posted a 10-21 record after taking over for longtime coach Dan Cocke. But that record, which included a 7-14 mark in Suburban Lakes League play, was a bit deceiving.

In his first season Bernard led the Knights to a 7-4 overall record and a berth in the Division IV state playoffs. In the last two seasons, Otsego won just three times and lost nine straight this year after a season-opening win over Woodward.

The City League had four players earn All-Ohio honors in voting by the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association.

Junior outside hitter Paige Roback of Notre Dame was named to the second team, while three others earned honorable mention: senior outside hitter Jessie Batanian of Notre Dame, senior middle hitter Jasmine Battle of Bowsher and sophomore setter Veronica Zimmerman of St. Ursula.

Senior middle hitter Allison Papenfuss of Anthony Wayne received third team honors, as did senior setter Kelly Walton of Findlay.

In Division II, senior outside hitter Kori Bruns of Ottawa-Glandorf received honorable mention.

Earning first team All-Ohio honors in Division IV was senior middle hitter Shannon Nadler of Leipsic, while senior middle Megan Wiler of Edon was voted to the third team.

Honorable mention choices in Division IV included sophomore middle Rachel Adolph of Van Buren and senior setter Sarah Mutchler of Ayersville.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…