Thursday, May 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Clay has 7 champs to claim Division I crown

Clay dominated the Division I sectional wrestling tournament at Rogers Saturday, crowning seven individual champions and advancing 12 wrestlers to next weekend's district at Mentor.

The Eagles finished with 284.5 points, 110 more than second-place Findlay.

Clay won each of the first three weight classes as Nick Garcia earned a 10-1 major decision over Collin Jester of Mansfield Madison at 103 pounds, Cody Kish edged Madison's Kyler Clark 2-0 at 112, and Richie Urias posted an 8-5 decision over Davion Caston of Sandusky.

Kirk McLaughlin and Dan Fisher also posted major decisions to win titles. McLaughlin beat Findlay's Jordan Jackson 11-3 for the 130-pound title, while Fisher bested Justin Palma of Sandusky 14-4.

Garrett Ondrus and Justin Wharton dominated their finals opponents. Ondrus pinned Sam Terrell of Sandusky in 3:26 to win at 152 while Wharton posted a 16-1 technical fall over Wade Arrendondo of Findlay at 160.

The only championship loss for the Eagles came at 215, where Mike Ackerman lost a 4-3 decision to Madison's Joe Klupp.

Findlay's champions were Michael Alexander, who beat Cody Evans of Fremont Ross 13-6 at 171, and 285-pounder Max Gladstone, who beat Dennis Cox of Bowling Green 7-5 in overtime.

Tylor Trautwein of Fremont Ross earned the 189-pound title with an 8-3 win over Chris Rambo of Madison.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to the district tournament.

SHELBY - Oak Harbor had four individual champions and sent four others on to the district tournament as the Rockets finished second at the Division II sectional yesterday.

Oak Harbor got individual titles from Drew Stone (119), Ian Miller (135), Konner Witt (140), and Mike Mallernee (160) to post 185.5 points. Lexington won the meet with 249.5 points and Clyde was third (155).

The Fliers did not have any individual champs but had nine that qualified for next weekend's district meet at Fostoria.

Clyde got third-place finishes from Zach Thurn (112), Dylan Stiffler (125), Kalob Andrews (135), Brandon Flores (145), Tyler Rex (152) and Cody Ortolani (160).

Alex Bergman finished second at 103 for the Rockets. Zach Bergman (130), Drew Bahnsen (189) and Zach Sandwisch (285) all took third for the Rockets.

Delian Schneider of Tiffin Columbian placed second at 112 and Clint Reis also was runner-up at 140 for the Tornadoes.

BLOOMDALE - Elmwood advanced all 14 of its wrestlers to the Division III district tournament at Owens Community College next weekend to win the sectional team title at its home gym yesterday.

The Royals had four individual champions and five second-place finishers to post 272.5 points, well ahead of second-place Port Clinton's total of 142.

Elmwood's winners were Nick Goebel (103), Westley Lee (119), Mitchell Emmitt (125) and Alex Betts (145).

Cardinal Stritch's Josh Reindel recorded a fall to win at 140. The Cardinals also got crowns from Kyle Gladieux (152) and Jared Heidebrink (215).

Lake's Nick Espinoza notched a close 7-6 decision over Nic Hernandez of Elmwood to take the title at 130.

Scott Tarver of Genoa pinned Elmwood's Jason Bonham in the finals of the 135-pound weight class.

Lakota senior Chris Kleman pulled out a dramatic 8-7 win in double overtime in the 171 championship. His senior brother Michael Kleman repeated as a sectional champ, winning 7-0 in the 189 final.

Woodmore's Ben St. John pinned all of his opponents at heavyweight.

Fremont St. Joe got a title from Austin Hilty (112), while Rich Harris of Port Clinton tallied a major decisiion (14-5) at 160.

ARCHBOLD - Liberty Center had only two champions in this Division III sectional, but the Tigers advanced 10 wrestlers to the district meet and claimed the team title.

LC finished with 209 points, besting Northwest Ohio Athletic League rival Delta by just nine points.

Liberty Center's champions were Luke Kern at 103 and Jake Elling at 160.

The second-place Panthers also had two champs in Jonny Tolson (112) and Reid Rayfield (135) and saw eight wrestlers move on to the district at Owens Community College.

The NWOAL had six other winners, two apiece from Patrick Henry, Archbold and Swanton.

The Patriots' winners were Alex Lopez (125) and Xavier Dye (152), while Jordan Cowell (130) and Chad Rufenacht (145) won for the Blue Streaks.

The Bulldogs were led by Austin Reiner (171) and Mimmo Lytle (285).

Points of Interest
Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…