Monday, Apr 23, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Southview among 9 local teams changing divisions

COLUMBUS - Nine area high schools will play in different divisions next football season, according to changes approved yesterday by the Ohio High School Athletic Association's board of directors.

Every two years the OHSAA reassesses the enrollment figures of its football-playing schools, seeking to create six divisions with roughly the same number of schools in each division. The new division breakdowns have caused 117 of the 718 schools in Ohio to move to a different division.

The enrollment figures are based on the number of boys in each school's upper three grades.

Four area schools will move up from Division II to Division I, including last year's Division II state champion from Southview. The others moving up are Anthony Wayne, Clay and Waite.

The only other area school moving to a higher division is Oak Harbor, which moves from Division IV to D-III.

Among schools moving to a lower division are Libbey, which drops from Division II to D-III; Rossford, which moves from Division III to D-IV; Delta, which drops from Division IV to D-V; and Ottawa Hills, which moves from Division V to D-VI.

Points of Interest
Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…