Saturday, August 29, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 10/7/2009

Gibsonburg becomes eighth member of TAAC


The Toledo Area Athletic Conference announced Wednesday that Gibsonburg would become the eighth member of the league.

According to league commissioner Dick Nowak, Gibsonburg will be a voting member of the league as of Jan. 1, 2010, and will compete for league championships starting in the 2011-12 season.

Currently the TAAC has seven full-time members: Cardinal Stritch, Danbury, Emmanuel Christian, Maumee Valley, Northwood, Ottawa Hills and Toledo Christian. Edon and Hilltop are football-only members of the league; Emmanuel Christian and Maumee Valley do not sponsor football.

Gibsonburg has been a member of the Suburban Lakes League from its inception for the 1972-73 season. In May five current SLL schools – Eastwood, Genoa, Lake, Otsego and Woodmore – announced that they were forming the Northern Buckeye Conference along with Rossford.

Fostoria and a sixth SLL school, Elmwood, have since joined the NBC.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.