Saturday, August 01, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 2/14/2010

Wauseon, Elmwood take championships

SWANTON - Wauseon claimed its first Northwest Ohio Athletic League team wrestling title since 1994 last night with three individual champions.

The Indians got first-place finishes from Dalton Nicely at 125 pounds, Brandon Volkman (140) and Nick McCall (189) to finish with 191 points, 27.5 points more than second-place Montpelier.

The Locomotives also had three individual champs. Luke Boehm won for the second year in a row by taking the 145 crown, while Derek Jimenez (152) and Matt Wells (215) also were winners.

Two Patrick Henry wrestlers won their third NWOAL titles in Alex Lopez (130) and Xavier Dye (171).

Swanton and Bryan also had two winners. Tom Leahey (160) and Mimmo Lytle (285) won for the Bulldogs, while Shelden Struble (112) and Dylan Zedaker (135) took first for the Golden Bears.

Liberty Center's Luke Kern won his second straight league title by winning his championship match at 119.

Evergreen's Brandon Faher won at 103.

MILLBURY - Elmwood won five of the first six weight classes at the Suburban Lakes League tournament held at Lake, then held on to earn the team title.

The Royals also picked up three seconds and a pair of thirds to finish with 174.5 points, with Eastwood taking second with 167 points.

Winning individual crowns for Elmwood were three-time champ Nick Goebel (112 pounds) along with two-time winners Westley Lee (125) and Tyler Baer (145), while Dexter Lee (103) and Mitchell Emmitt (130) also took firsts.

Eastwood's Seth Hoffman won the 160-pound crown and was named the league's wrestler of the year. Hoffman won for the second straight year, as did teammate Matt Schling (285), while the Eagles' Justin Burket (119) and Jacob Welch (152) won their first titles.

Genoa had two winners in Scott Traver (140) and Jake Sheehy (171).

Lake had two champs in Brandon Tantari (189) and Carl Brown (215).

Gibsonburg's Damen Escobedo finished first at 135.

McComb won titles in five different weight classes to claim the Ohio Wrestling League championship at Cardinal Stritch yesterday.

Kyle Gladieux of Stritch won the 160-pound title by pinning Ben Niese of Cory-Rawson in 2:19 and was named the league's wrestler of the year.

The Panthers crowned champs in Jacob Haas (119 pounds), Brandon Montgomery (130), Christopher Osborne (135), Cody Delacerda (145) and Danny Sudlow (215) and had five other wrestlers place second to finish with 196 points.

Northwood also had one individual titlist as Brandon Kretz took top honors at 112 by pinning Nick Siferd of McComb in 41 seconds.

Arcadia's lone champ was Conner Lewis at 125, while Van Buren's Chad Sonnenberg finished first at 140.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.