Thursday, Jun 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

3 win titles as Oak Harbor takes D-II wrestling championship

MARION - On the strength of six finalists, including three champions, Oak Harbor won the team title yesterday at a Division II district wrestling tournament at Marion Harding.

Drew Stone (125), Ian Miller (145), and Konner Witt (152) all captured individual crowns last night for the Rockets, who scored 177.5 points to comfortably best second-place Lexington with 149.

Central Catholic, which placed five wrestlers in the top four of their respective weight classes to qualify for this week's state tournament, finished third with 125 points. Wauseon, which will send four to state including 171-pound champion Nick McCall, took sixth with 84.5 points.

In all Oak Harbor will send seven to state - held Thursday through Saturday in Columbus - including runner-ups Tyler Hackworth (119), Mike Mallernee (171), and Zach Sandwisch (285). Jake Cramer took third at 140.

Central crowned champions Jake Henderson (215) and Vincenzo Cardone (285) to go along with runner-up Tony Martin (152), third-place finisher Dan Cook (135), and fourth-place finisher D.J. Beauch (145).

Eastwood's Seth Hoffman captured the title at 160. Other area qualifiers are: Wauseon fourth-place finishers Dalton Nicely (125), Brandon Volkman (140), and Luke Tanier (160), Napoleon's Zach Walker (fourth, 103) and his teammate Cody Bloom (third, 215), and Rossford's D.J. Recknagel (fourth, 189).

ASHLAND - Four Clay wrestlers earned state tournament bids and four others came one win away of doing so this weekend at a Division I district wrestling tournament at Ashland.

Nick Garcia (third, 103), Angelo Amenta (fourth, 130), Mark Orth (third, 135), and Chico Cloyne (fourth, 160) will represent the Eagles at the state meet in Columbus.

Clay finished fourth in the team standings with 113 points.

Lakewood St. Edward captured the crown with 289.5 points and Wadsworth was second with 268.5.

Other area state qualifiers are: Start's Nate Brubaker (third, 171), Findlay's Michael Alexander (second, 171) and Max Gladstone (third, 285), St. John's Kevin Schoen (fourth, 189), and Fremont Ross' Tyler Trautwein (third, 189).

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…