Thursday, April 28, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 10/21/2012

Cross country: Division III

Toledo Christian's Phelps dominates D-III race

Elmwood's Strausbaugh gets boys championship


Delainey Phelps won her second straight district title and led Toledo Christian to a team title at the Division III meet at H.P. Eells Park in Bettsville.

In the District 2 race, Phelps finished in 17:57.77, easily the fastest time. Joining her in the top 16 were teammates Kavanaugh Phelps, Tavish Phelps, and Chloe Wotring. Toledo Christian scored 71 points, topping second place Elmwood’s 102.

In the Division III, District 1 race, Woodmore freshman Courtney Burner finished in fifth place (20:10.99) and will move on to regionals.

In the boys’ Division III, District 1 race, Toledo Christian senior Daniel Burket placed sixth (16:46.04) to lead the Eagles to a fifth place finish. Woodmore placed fourth overall, led by sophomore Ryan Avers’ 12th place finish.

In the District 2 race, Elmwood senior Lorne Strausbaugh won the individual title with a time of 16:39.71. Royals sophomore Josh Mathias finished 13th and senior Alex Jasso placed 14th. Elmwood finished in third place overall.

In the District 3 race, Gibsonburg senior Jacob Merryfield finished in 10th place to lead the Golden Bears to a seventh place finish.

In other Division III action held at Liberty Center, the Liberty Center girls team won the District 1 race. Brittany Atkinson won the race with a time of 18:06.37 and Kelly Haubert placed second with a time of 18:40.86.

In the District 2 race, Liberty-Benton finished second overall behind a fourth place finish from Madi Greiner. The Archbold girls placed sixth and Edon eighth.

The boys’ Division III, District 1 race at Liberty Center saw Pettisville earn a fourth place finish, with Dominic Frey taking ninth overall.

In the District 2 race, the Liberty Center boys’ team finished fourth led by Joe Seedorf’s seventh place finish.

Archbold raced to a team victory in the District 3 race. Bryce Tinsman led the way in second place and Alex Hurst followed in fourth.

In Division II, the Napoleon girls dominated the action at Galion. In the District 1 race, Maddie Grooms took second place, Hannah Westhoven third, Sarah Waisner sixth, Amber Robison seventh, and Alexa Sonnenberg ninth.

In the District 2 race, Wauseon sophomore Taylor Vernot won the individual title with a time of 18:28.26 and the Indians won the team crown as well.

Eastwood junior Maddie Jackson placed fifth in District 3 to give the Eagles a third place team finish.

In the boys’ District 1 race, Bryan finished second, Delta third and Otsego fourth. Otsego’s Brandon Avers placed sixth and Bryan’s Jacob Will eighth.

In District 2, Wauseon sophomore Quintin Reiser ran to a fifth place finish, and the Indians placed sixth in the team standings.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories