Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

McComb's Jerry Brown Division VI co-offensive player of the year on All-Ohio football team


McComb running back Jerry Brown, 23, was named the Division VI co-offensive player of the year on the Associated Press All-Ohio football team.

The Blade/Andy Morrison
Enlarge | Buy This Image

McComb running back Jerry Brown, who led the Panthers to the Division VI state semifinals, was named the Division VI co-offensive player of the year on the Associated Press All-Ohio football team Wednesday.

The 6-foot-1, 190-pound senior, amassed more than 2,000 yards all-purpose yards. McComb offensive lineman Spencer Nauth was also named to the first team. They were anchors for a Panthers team that reached the state semifinals, losing 34-28 in overtime to five-time state champ Marion Local.

Ottawa Hills placekicker Michael Geiger, a 5-10, 180-pound senior, was a first-team selection.

Geiger, who is committed to Boston College, made 38 of 40 extra-point kicks and was 6 of 10 on field goal tries. He averaged 41.7 yards per punt this season. The Green Bears kicker also excelled as a soccer goalie. He helped Ottawa Hills advance to a Division III state semifinals, where the Bears lost 2-1 to Gates Mills Hawken.

Fremont St. Joseph's Corey Durbin, Edon's Matt Cook and McComb's Cody Wilson were named to the D-VI second team. Fremont St. Joseph's Luke Stierwalt was named to the third team.

In Division V, Patrick Henry offensive lineman Colt Pettit (6-4, 250, sr.) and Liberty-Benton offensive end Chase Cook (5-11, 150, jr.) were named to the first team. Pettit has received attention from several Division I colleges for his blocking. Cook caught more than 50 passes for more than 1,800 yards this year for Liberty-Benton.

Northwood lineman David Bogart (6-4, 234, sr.), Liberty-Benton quarterback Mitch Linhart (6-3, 185, sr.), Liberty Center running back Sean Westhoven (6-0, 210, sr.), and Patrick Henry defensive lineman Jake Carrizales (6-2,225, sr.) were selected to the second team.

Archbold's Tyson Dietrich, Liberty Center's Nick Demaline and Jimmy Spieth, Northwood's Nick Whitmore, and Justin Rohrs were third-team selections.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…