Saturday, May 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

High School

Perrysburg finishes with place winner in every weight class en route to NLL tournament title


Perrysburg wrestler Mark Delas celebrates his win over Maumee's Nick Grzegorzeski during their 220-pound final match today at the Northern Lakes League wrestling championships at Springfield High School.

The Blade/Andy Morrison
Enlarge | Buy This Image

It was nearly a perfect meet for the Perrysburg wrestling team today as the Yellow Jackets thoroughly crushed the competition on a historic day at the Northern Lakes League tournament.

The Yellow Jackets earned nine individual titles to easily outdistance second-place Napoleon by 122.5 points. It is believed to be the widest margin of victory in the 51-year history of the tournament.

The Yellow Jackets had 10 wrestlers in the 14 championship matches at Springfield. They finished with place winners (top four) in all 14 weight classes.

Ryan Roth (145 pounds), J.P. Newton (152), and Rocco Caywood (170) all repeated as NLL champs.

Brock Jones (106), Mario Guillen (113), Leo Romp (126), Alec Herhold (132), Mark Delas (220), and Cale Bonner (285) also won individual titles for Perrysburg.

Perrysburg, which also went 7-0 in NLL dual meets, won its third consecutive league team title.

Anthony Wayne senior Christian Yates became only 29th wrestler to win three NLL titles. Yates, who captured titles as a freshman and sophomore, won by fall in the 120 final.

Springfield's Ross Lonsway also successfully defended his 2012 title.

Maumee brothers Anthony Arroyo (138) and Johnny Arroyo (195) each won individual titles.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…