Thursday, November 26, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Saturday, 5/18/2013

Prep Tennis

Delp, Laungani win sectional singles titles


Central Catholic’s Dugan Delp won the Division I, section 2 sectional final at Jermain Park after Perrysburg’s Jeffrey Schorsch, the defending sectional champion, was forced to retire early in the final due to injury.

Sam Unnerstall and Jacob White of St. Francis took the section 2 doubles title by defeating James Demeo and Todd Klewer of Clay 7-6, 6-3.

In the Division I, section 1 singles final, Rajeev Laungani of St. John’s defeated teammate Trevor Majdalani 6-1, 6-3 to earn a title.

The doubles was also an all-St. John’s final, with Caleb Mickler and Adam Zychowicz defeating Kevin and Ryan Brown 6-3, 3-6, 6-4.

The top four in singles and doubles advance to the district at Bowling Green State University.

■ ADA — Findlay swept the singles and doubles titles in a Division I sectional at Ohio Northern University.

Andy Martin knocked off teammate Kevin Lewis 6-2, 6-7, 6-1 to win the singles crown and Lucas Schaible and Reid Teatsorth bested teammates Max MacDonald and Steven Roland for the doubles title.

Division II

DEFIANCE — Wauseon’s Don Hayati topped Matthew Gargas of Ottawa Hills 6-3, 6-4 for the singles title in a Division II sectional final.

Maumee Valley’s Annu Reddy and Navdeep Bais beat Troy Savage and Derek Vincent of Bryan 6-4, 6-7, 6-2 to claim the doubles title.

■ PORT CLINTON — Sandusky Perkins won both the singles and doubles title in a Division II sectional.

Manickam Manickam defeated Matheus Rodrigues of Port Clinton 6-1, 6-2. The doubles team of Zach Grealy and Cody Dominick topped Taylor Crooks and Carlo Mormina of Sandusky St. Mary’s 3-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories