Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Saturday, 6/1/2013 - Updated: 2 years ago


Toledo Christian's Phelps, Gibsonburg’s Reynolds each take 2 events in Tiffin regional


TIFFIN — Van Buren withstood challenges from Gibsonburg and Toledo Christian to capture a Division III girls track and field regional championship Friday.

Van Buren’s 53 points topped Gibsonburg’s 46 and Toledo Christian’s 45. Archbold (35) finished fourth.

Sarah Benson led Van Buren by winning the long jump (17 feet, 6 inches) and finished second in 100- and 200-meter dashes.

Multiple event winners included Colleen Reynolds of Gibsonburg and Delainey Phelps of Toledo Christian.

Reynolds dominated the sprints, winning the 100 meters (12.40 seconds), the 200 (25.38), and the 400 (57.66).

Phelps controlled the distance events, taking the 1600 (5:13.13) and the 3200 (11:16.58).

Toledo Christian’s Darian Westmeyer won the 100 hurdles in 15.45 and finished third in the 300 hurdles.

Archbold’s 1600 relay team of Meridith Short, Kassidy Garrow, Tressa Parsley, and Jensyn Garrow took first place with a time of 4:04.09.

Liberty Center's Paige Chamberlain, Brittany Atkinson, Kelly Haubert, and Olivia Kundo won the 3200 relay in 9:47.54. The Archbold team took second and Van Buren finished fourth.

Van Buren came in second in the 800 relay, and Archbold was fourth.

Woodmore’s Megan Pendleton won the discus with a throw of 134-10. Kinsey Smith (Archbold) took second in the long jump.

Also qualifying for the state meet by finishing in the top four were Kendall Reynolds (Gibsonburg) in the 100 and the 400, Kassidy Garrow (Archbold) and Rachell Resnik (Van Buren) in the 800, and Atkinson and Haubert (Liberty Center)in the 3200.

In the boys competition, Columbus Grove won the championship with 75 points. Liberty-Benton (72) took second place, followed by Tinora (43). Elmwood and Fairview tied for fourth (41).

Chase Cook was the standout for Liberty-Benton, winning the long jump (21-09¾), taking third in the 100 and 200, and placing second with the Eagles’ 400 relay team.

Zach Nye (Patrick Henry) won the 110 hurdles (14.56), while Joey Fisher of Fremont St. Joseph took fourth in the 300 hurdles.

Liberty Center’s Henry Elling, Joe Seedorf, Jason Hadley, and Cameron Weaks took the 3200 relay in 8:15.07, while Elmwood’s team placed fourth. Woodmore took third in the 800 relay, and Elmwood placed second in the 1600 relay.

Also earning a spot in the state meet were Andrew Shrewsbury (Woodmore) in the 100 and 200, and Noah Wood (Toledo Christian) in the 400.

Deric Anthony (Woodmore), Henry Elling (Liberty Center), and Alex Jasso (Elmwood) qualified in the 800, along with Lorne Strausbaugh (Elmwood) in the 1600 and Eric Duvall (Liberty-Benton) and Daniel Burket (Toledo Christian) in the 3200.

Nick Demaline of Liberty Center won the shot put with a throw of 59-11½.

Aaron Arnold (Elmwood) finished second in the long jump, Brian Miller (Liberty-Benton) placed second in the high jump, and Dylan Cornwell (Liberty-Benton) was second in the pole vault.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories