Thursday, February 11, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
29n5tbox Central Catholic High School quarterback DeShone Kizer is the 2013 Blade player of the year.
Central Catholic High School quarterback DeShone Kizer is the 2013 Blade player of the year.
Published: Tuesday, 12/3/2013 - Updated: 2 years ago

Kizer tops area AP Division III All-Ohio football team

Flyers’ Emans named D-IV co-coach of year


Poncsak Poncsak
THE BLADE Enlarge | Buy This Photo

Senior DeShone Kizer of Central Catholic has been named first team quarterback on the Associated Press Division III All-Ohio football team, and was selected co-offensive player of the year with fellow QB Luke Kennard of Franklin, and running back Jamal Johnson of New Philadelphia.

 Pickard Pickard

The 6-foot-5, 220-pound Kizer, who has committed to Notre Dame, closed the season 150 of 245 passing for 2,847 yards and 30 touchdowns, leading the Irish to a 12-1 record, a Three Rivers Athletic Conference title, and No. 2 state ranking.

Emans Emans
THE BLADE Enlarge | Buy This Photo

Earning second-team honors in D-III were Kizer’s Central teammates J’Quan Fisher (defensive line), Chris Green (linebacker), and Derich Weiland (defensive back). Central offensive lineman Ramone Miles was named to the D-III third team.

Deiter Deiter
THE BLADE Enlarge | Buy This Photo

Two Napoleon players also received All-Ohio honors in D-III, with receiver Zach Fielder making the second-team offense, and linebacker Bryant Schlade selected to the third-team defense.

Bueter Bueter
THE BLADEE Enlarge | Buy This Photo

Division IV, two players each from Northern Buckeye Conference champion Genoa and Northwest Ohio Athletic League champion Bryan received first-team recognition.

Wisconsin-bound offensive lineman Michael Deiter and Genoa teammate, placekicker Cody Pickard, were the first-team selections. Comets running back David Nutter earned D-IV second team on offense.

Bryan quarterback Austin Schimmoeller and defensive back Brandon Poncsak were chosen to the first team, and their Golden Bears teammate, linebacker Jerad Carroll, made the third team.

Also named to the Division IV first team offense was Wauseon running back Axel Bueter. Two of his Indians teammates were picked to the third team in D-IV — Cesar Juarez (offensive lineman) and Aaron Schuette (linebacker).

Former longtime Wauseon coach, Mark Emans, who guided Lake to an 8-2 record and a D-IV playoff appearance in his first season with the Flyers, was named co-coach of the year in D-IV.

Two players each from Liberty Center and Liberty-Benton were selected to the Division V first team.

Offensive lineman Nick Demaline and running back Anthony Righi of Liberty Center were named to the first-team offense.

Receiver Chase Cook was picked to the first-team offense, and his Liberty-Benton teammate, lineman Brandon May, was chosen to the first-team defense. Their Eagles teammate, placekicker Casey Fowler, was picked to the third-team offense.

Second-team selections in Division V included Archbold quarterback Evan Wyse and Eastwood defensive lineman Michael Glaze.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories