Loading…
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Tuesday, 10/28/2008

Delany says mistake made on UM's TD

ASSOCIATED PRESS

ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said a replay official mistakenly awarded Michigan a touchdown during its game against Michigan State, the Detroit Free Press reported.

"It wasn't a mistake of judgment, it was a mistake of an application of the rule," Delany said.

Delany said discipline could follow.

Michigan's Brandon Minor leaped to make a catch and knocked over the pylon at the front corner of the end zone on his way down, causing the on-field referee to rule the play incomplete.

The replay official overturned the call, ruling that because Minor's foot hit the pylon, it was a touchdown. According to NCAA rules, however, an airborne player who touches a pylon is considered out of bounds.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest