Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 8/25/2010

Central Catholic's Sanzenbacher one of 6 captains for OSU football team


COLUMBUS -- Former Central Catholic standout Dane Sanzenbacher was named one of six Ohio State football captains for the 2010 football season on Wednesday.

Sanzenbacher joins Bryant Browning, Cameron Heward, Ross Holman, Brian Rolle, and Brandon Saine.

This is just the second time in OSU's 121-season football history that six Buckeyes will serve as season-long leaders for the squad. In 1982, Glen Cobb, Jerome Foster, Joe Lukens, Marcus Marek, Tim Spencer and Gary Williams served as captains; the Buckeyes elected five captains for the 1974, 1989 and 1990 campaigns.

“It's a real honor to be mentioned among these great leaders,” said Sanzenbacher, a wide receiver with 69 career catches. “I don't think it will change much for me; I just want to continue to contribute to this program any way I can.”

The 2010 Buckeyes open the season Thursday, Sept. 2, hosting Marshall in a 7:30 p.m. game at Ohio Stadium.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest