Tuesday, May 22, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Ohio State

Miller, Simon win top honors on All-Big Ten Conference team

Ohio State quar­ter­back Brax­ton Miller and de­fen­sive end John Si­mon earned ma­jor awards Mon­day, high­light­ing a ros­ter of seven Buck­eyes named to the All-Big Ten Con­fer­ence first team by the me­dia or coaches.

Miller was named the Griese-Brees quar­ter­back of the year and a first-team se­lec­tion by the me­dia, but re­ceived a sur­prise snub from the coaches, who dropped the soph­o­more to the sec­ond team in fa­vor of Ne­braska quar­ter­back Tay­lor Mar­ti­nez.

Si­mon, a se­nior cap­tain, was named Smith-Brown de­fen­sive line­man of the year and a unan­i­mous first-team se­lec­tion.

Soph­o­more cor­ner­back Brad­ley Roby was the Buck­eyes’ only other unan­i­mous first-team pick. The coaches voted for ju­nior de­fen­sive tackle Johna­than Han­kins, while the me­dia rec­og­nized soph­o­more line­backer Ryan Shaz­ier, se­nior cor­ner­back Travis Howard and ju­nior left guard An­drew Nor­well.

Left tackle Jack Mew­hort, a St. John’s Je­suit grad­u­ate, was one of four OSU ju­niors voted to the sec­ond team.

Mich­i­gan had three first-team se­lec­tions, in­clud­ing Tay­lor Le­wan, the Rim­ing­ton-Pace of­fen­sive line­man of the year, and Will Ha­gerup, the Ed­dle­man-Fields punter of the year. Se­nior guard Patrick Oma­meh made the coaches’ first team.

Le­wan, a unan­i­mous first-team se­lec­tion, has started 27 straight games at left tackle. Ha­gerup av­er­aged a con­fer­ence-best 45 yards per punt, punt­ing 33 times for 1,486 yards.

UM se­nior safety Jor­dan Kovacs, a Clay grad­u­ate, was a sec­ond-team coaches se­lec­tion.

Else­where, Iowa se­nior cor­ner­back Mi­cah Hyde, a Fosto­ria grad­u­ate, was named Ta­tum-Wood­son de­fen­sive back of the year af­ter fin­ish­ing fourth in the con­fer­ence with 15 passes de­fended. Hyde, a three-year starter, also had two forced fum­bles and an in­ter­cep­tion.

The Big Ten will an­nounce its of­fen­sive and de­fen­sive play­ers of the year and coach of the year to­day.

Miller, a top can­di­date for of­fen­sive player of the year, was sec­ond in the Big Ten in to­tal of­fense at 275.8 yards per game and led the Buck­eyes with 1,271 rush­ing yards and 13 touch­downs. Si­mon, whom OSU coach Ur­ban Meyer called the team’s “heart and soul,” led the league with nine sacks and ranked third with 14.5 tack­les for a loss.

“I am happy for all of the mem­bers of this team who are be­ing hon­ored, and also for their team­mates, whose hard work helped these guys earn this Big Ten rec­og­ni­tion,” Meyer said. “It is a trib­ute to the work ethic of both John Si­mon and Brax­ton Miller, cou­pled with the fact that they are both ex­cel­lent foot­ball play­ers, that they were named play­ers of the year at their po­si­tions.”

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…