The four-year renewal is approaching for Ohioans who received a license to carry a concealed weapon when the concealed-carry law took effect in April, 2004, sheriff s offices remind license-holders.
State law allows a concealed carry license to be renewed 90 days before and within 30 days after expiration. Otherwise, the license will expire.
Applicants for renewal have to turn in a new application and verify they ve re-read the concealed-carry pamphlet; present a passport-sized color photo taken in the previous 30 days; have an original or renewed training certificate, and show valid photo identification.
Renewal applicants also will undergo fingerprint verification and a background check.
Renewed licenses cost $55 for Ohio residents of longer than five years, and $79 for Ohio residents of less than five years. Renewals are made through county sheriff s offices.
Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. Comments that violate these standards, or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, are subject to being removed and commenters are subject to being banned. To post comments, you must be a registered user on toledoblade.com. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.