Tuesday, May 22, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


GOP picks Nagel for Fulton County prosecutor

Roger Nagel won the Republican nomination to replace the longtime Fulton County prosecutor.

The main issue in the race was whether the prosecutor should collect a full-time salary of more than $94,000 or work as a part-time prosecutor, being paid less than $53,000.

Mr. Nagel said he would devote himself full time to the prosecutor s office. Mr. Robinson said he could save the county almost $42,000 a year by maintaining his privatepractice and working as prosecutor part time. Prosecutor William Swigart decided not to run for re-election.

In other races yesterday:

Fulton County commissioner candidate Dean Genter won the Republican primary for a seat on the board. He and his opponent both are Republicans. Paul Barnaby, also a Republican, won the other seat. No Democrat filed for either seat.

Beverly Schlosser won the Republican primary for treasurer. No Democrat filed.

In Hancock County, nine Republicans and no Democrats were running for two county commission seats. In the first race, Edward Ingold won the primary, beating incumbent Stephan Oman. Emily Ann Walton won the Republican nomination. The candidates for the commissioner seats said they were surprised by the number of people running in the races.

In Henry County, Richard Bennett won the Republican nomination to be county commissioner, beating James Junge. No Democrats filed.

In Seneca County, Prosecutor Ken Egbert narrowly beat Derek DeVine in the Republican race for the seat; there was not a Democratic primary. Both parties had contested races for two county commission seats. In one race, Democrat David Gross and Republican David Sauber won their party s nomination. Democrat Ben Nutter and Republican Charles Buster Ardner won the nominations.

In Ottawa County, David Brunkhorst beat Arnold Stemen for the Democratic nomination for engineer; no Republicans filed.

Duane Votaw took the Republican nomination for Williams County commissioner. Three Republicans faced off in the treasurer s race; Sharon Helbig won.

In Wood County, two Republicans and no Democrats were running. Republican Raymond Huber won the nomination.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…