Friday, May 25, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Lenawee County: Voters to cast ballots for sheriff, other key countywide offices

Contests for sheriff, road commissioner, and county commissioner are among the local races that will be decided in Lenawee County on Tuesday.

In the sheriff's race, incumbent Democrat Larry Richardson of Adrian, the county's first African-American sheriff, is running for a second term against Capt. Jack Welsh of Adrian, a Republican who has worked 30 years in the sheriff's department and currently directs the administrative services department.

The sheriff is paid $78,980.51 a year.

Road Commissioner Phillip Hart, a Republican and a Hudson Township farmer, is running for a second, six-year term against Democrat Robert Emery of Adrian.

In county commissioner races, Republican David Stimpson of Tecumseh, a Republican, is competing against Democrat Ron Wimple of Tecumseh in District 1.

The winner will replace David Abraham of Tecumseh, who is running for state representative.

In District 2, H. Edwin "Jack" Branch of Onstead, the Republican incumbent, faces off against Democrat Mark Cleveland of Cement City and Walter Priest of Adrian, a U.S. Taxpayer Party member.

In District 3, incumbent Robert Hall of Hudson, a Republican, faces Democrat Lee Ann Minton, a retired schoolteacher, also from Hudson.

District 4 incumbent Larry Gould of Morenci, a Republican, is pitted against Democrat Karin Gray, a Madison Township mental health therapist, and Ronald Gaydosh of Clayton, a U.S. Taxpayer party member.

Dick Bailey of Adrian, a Republican incumbent who has served two terms, faces Rick Lee Bacon of Lenawee County for the District 6 seat.

County commissioners are paid $8,000 annually.

In the county's townships, there are numerous contested races.

Clinton Township's race to replace Supervisor Robert Shaw pits Republican Chris Wittenback, a township trustee, against Democrat John DeAngelis.

In Deerfield Township, Republican Douglas Burke faces Democrat Ronald Cousino for the only competitive trustee race.

Trustee Curt Bangerter is running unopposed for the supervisor position being vacated by Deanna Pieh.

In Dover Township's only competitive race, incumbent Trustee Marvin Fike, a Republican, is being opposed by Democrat Gerald Fox.

Fairfield Township has two competitive races. Republican Janet Harsh, the township treasurer, is running against Democrat Dawn VanDusen to replace departing Supervisor Kevin Keller.

In a trustee race, Republican incumbent Curtis Emmons will face Democrat Dan Delano.

In Madison Township, voters will select four supervisors from a candidate list of six: incumbents Larry Liedel (R.), Wayne Smith (D.), Roger Roback (D.), Howard Bales (R.), Randy Miller (R.), and Chad Rogers (D.).

In Ogden Township, incumbent Trustee Marvin Sell, a Republican, is pitted against Democrat James Oprsal.

Raisin Township Treasurer DeLight Sieler, a Democrat, is being opposed by Republican Marge McDermott. Incumbent Keith Richardson faces James Hannah, a Democrat, in the only competitive trustee race.

In Rollin Township, Democratic incumbent Trustee Raymond McGrath is running against Democrat Jerry Underfer.

Contact George Tanber:


or 734-241-3610.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…