Sunday, February 07, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 4/7/2005

Perz elected county GOP chairman, replacing Noe

Former state Rep. Sally Perz was elected chairman of the Lucas County Republican Party last night. She will fill out the final 13 months of the term started by Bernadette Noe.

Ms. Noe resigned in early February to pursue family and other political interests.

"We have a lot of people interested in running for office in the November election, so we are gearing up our screening process and the fund-raising process,'' Ms. Perz said.

"We will be very inclusive in terms of ideas from our central committee and our executive committee. Staying included means that if you have something to do, you follow through. That's what they can expect from me, and that's what we expect from each other."

The GOP is working to field a slate of candidates for the municipal, township, and judicial races this year. It currently holds three seats on Toledo council, the largest legislative body in the county. Two Republican councilmen - at-large Councilman George Sarantou and District 6 Councilman Rob Ludeman - are considering possible runs for mayor.

Democrats have dominated Toledo government since the city changed its charter in 1992. This year, incumbent Democratic Mayor Jack Ford will run for re-election in what will be the fourth strong-mayor election under the new charter.

Ms. Perz's first project as chairman will be to preside over the party's annual Lincoln Day dinner, which is set for Wednesday. It will feature all three GOP candidates for governor - Attorney General James Petro, Secretary of State Kenneth Blackwell, and state Auditor Betty Montgomery.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.