Friday, Apr 20, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Election Day light in Monroe, Lenawee



MONROE - A race pitting a five-time former mayor against an incumbent who beat him by 12 votes two years ago highlights a light Election Day in Monroe and Lenawee counties.


In the city of Monroe, former Mayor Al Cappuccilli, 75, is trying to regain the office he lost in 2003 to John Iacoangeli, 52. Mr. Cappuccilli claims city employee morale has plummeted under Mr. Iacoangeli. The mayor says Mr. Cappuccilli is out of touch with the reality of what it takes to be mayor.

Also, voters will choose new city council members, with five of the council's six seats contested in Tuesday's election:

Precinct One: Bill Burkett faces a challenge from Adam Yeager. In Precinct Two: Newcomers Edward Paisley and Richard Floraday, Jr., vie to succeed outgoing councilman James Sabo. Precinct Three: Incumbent Dorothy Edwards is challenged by J. Pat McElligott. Precinct Four: Fellow incumbent Jean Guyor is challenged by John Martin. Precinct Five: Incumbent Linda Compora faces Mary Conner and Gary Dahl. Precinct Six: Newcomer Brian Beneteau is unopposed.

In Luna Pier, Todd Deal is the only candidate on the ballot to succeed current Mayor Jerry Welton, although Mr. Deal's fellow councilman, Dean Ansel, is running as a write-in candidate. The four people running for council include two incumbents, Chris F. Heid and Kenneth Kruzel, and newcomers Arthur Lutz and Nola Young.

In Petersburg, Mayor Leroy Burguard is unopposed in his bid for a sixth consecutive term. Seven people are vying for the three open council seats. Incumbents Dawn Cille and John McFellin, Jr., face challenges from Ronald Cevora, Joanne Tollison, Brian Parros, Jenna LaRocca, and James Holeman.

Monroe County has four local issues on the ballot:

Summerfield School District is seeking approval of a $5.3 million bond issue to pay for a number of large maintenance and capital improvement projects in the schools.

Frenchtown Charter Township voters are being asked to renew a 2-mill fire levy and approve an additional 1-mill levy for the department.

LaSalle Township voters will decide on a 0.75-mill renewal request for their township fire department.


Adrian mayor's race has John Abraham, an 82-year-old political novice, going against city commissioner Gary McDowell, 63. The winner will replace five-term incumbent Samuel Rye.

Adrian City Commission has six candidates competing for four positions. Commissioners Chuck Chase and Greg DuMars are running for re-election. They will be joined by Michael Osborne, Jr., a sheriff's deputy; Harry Steele, an insurance company executive; Jim Awad, owner of Diana's Market, and Kirk Valentine, a builder.

Also on the Adrian ballot, voters will be asked to renew a 1-mill, 10-year levy for public improvements.

Morenci incumbent Russell Sutherland will face challenger Jeffrey Lantz in the mayor's race. In the city council race, incumbent Keith Pennington and newcomers Jason Bryant and Tracy Schell are running unopposed.

Hudson pro-tem Mayor Joel Haynes and newcomer James Steele are running for two spots on city council.

Also on the ballot is a 2-mill, five-year sinking fund levy for Hudson schools for buying real estate and upgrading schools.

Tecumseh incumbents Laurence VanAlstine, Troy Wright, and Patricia Housekeeper are running unopposed for three spots on city council.

Rollin Township voters will be asked to pass a pair of levies that would benefit Addison Community Schools. One is a renewal for six years of a 17.8-mill operating levy. The other would increase another operating levy by 3.9 mills, also for six years.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…