Thursday, Apr 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Ex-Erie Township treasurer wins; 4 commissioners ahead in tally

MONROE - Erie Township voters returned their former treasurer - who is charged with two counts of improper safekeeping of public monies - to her job last night, and four incumbent Monroe County commissioners have apparently maintained their seats, according to unofficial election results.

Cindy Baum, who bested Republican Amanda Jacobs, stepped down last November as Erie Township treasurer. She is scheduled to be in Monroe County Circuit Court for a hearing tomorrow. A jury trial is scheduled for Nov. 15.

In Bedford Township, voters again said no to a 0.30-mill parks levy that would have generated about $294,000 a year to create a new park and maintain others. The levy also failed in August. The current millage rate of 0.25, which generated about $225,000 annually for parks, will expire at the end of this year.

After precinct votes were tallied, the parks issue appeared to have passed, but when absentee ballots were counted, the levy fell about 400 votes short of passage, according to the township clerk's office.

A money issue calling for the expansion of the Summerfield-Petersburg library, which failed in August, easily passed.

In Summerfield and Petersburg, voters agreed that a 15-year, $625,000 bond issue for the Monroe County Public Library System's Summerfield-Petersburg branch is needed to expand the library by up to 50 percent. Chairman of the Library Board Noel Dentner said that over the past five years the library has had more patrons and has had to increase the programs it offers.

In August, Petersburg voters approved the proposal, 91-59, but in Summerfield Township, voters rejected the request, 135-130. Both have to approve the measure for it to pass.

County voters returned five of seven incumbents to the county commission, according to unofficial results.

In District 1, incumbent J. Henry Lievens (R., Petersburg) narrowly defeated Judy M. Heath (D., Milan).

Incumbent Dale W. Zorn (R., Ida) beat Mike Sperling (D., Monroe) in the District 2 race.

Incumbent Floreine M. Mentel (D., Monroe) defeated University of Toledo senior Nicholas Turner (R., Monroe) and Patricia Kosanovich (write-in, Monroe) in District 4.

Incumbent William Sisk (D., Monroe) bested Marty Selvidge (R., Monroe) in District 5.

In District 6, incumbent commissioner chairman Jerry Oley (D., Monroe) won against Jeffery S. Osment (R., Monroe).

John S. Fowler (D., Albain) beat incumbent Randy Ansel (R., LaSalle) in District 7.

In District 8, Connie Velliquette (D., Temperance) easily bested write-in incumbent candidate James Goebel (Temperance).

Contact Benjamin Alexander-Bloch


or 419-724-6050.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…