Saturday, November 28, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 11/8/2006

Kaptur on her way to 13th congressional term


Incumbents in Ohio's and Michigan's congressional races were expected to retain their seats last night.

U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D., Toledo) unofficially won a 13th term representing Ohio's 9th District, which spans from Lucas County to Lorain County.

Miss Kaptur defeated challenger Bradley Leavitt, a Toledo Republican and steelworker.

U.S. Rep. Paul Gillmor, (R., Old Fort) appeared to have won re-election for a 10th term representing Ohio's 5th District, which includes Bowling Green.

Mr. Gillmor was opposed by Democrat Robin Weirauch, of Napoleon, who had attempted to capitalize on Republican scandals in Ohio.

Results were too close to call last night in the race to represent Ohio's 4th District, between State Sen. Jim Jordan, a Republican from Urbana, and Richard Siferd, a Lima lawyer.

Whoever wins election to the seat, which covers Findlay, Lima, Mansfield, and Marion, will replace U.S. Rep. Mike Oxley, a Republican who is retiring.

In Michigan's 7th Congressional District, former state Rep. Tim Walberg, a Republican and former pastor from Tipton, appeared to have defeated Sharon Renier, a Democrat from Munith.

Mr. Walberg had defeated incumbent U.S. Rep. Joe Schwarz, of Battle Creek in the Republican primary.

The district covers Hillsdale and Lenawee counties.

U.S. Rep. John Dingell, a Democrat who with nearly 51 years on the job is Michigan's longest-serving member of Congress, did not have a Republican challenger.

Mr. Dingell represents Michigan's 15th Congressional District, which includes Monroe County.

Contact Ignazio Messina

at imessina@theblade.com

or 419-724-6171.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.